Apple Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by deet31483
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These were so moist! I used half white, half brown sugar and added vanilla, raisins and extra apples and cinnamon, plus substituted oats for the flour on the crumble topping. I also used gluten flour, which usually makes things crumbly and dense, but these turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deet31483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
We just love this recipe. I have also used wild blue berries in place of the apples. They are easy to make and so good as a snack. They are my first to go to recipe when making muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbies recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made mini muffins and they turned out very tasty. I did substitute about 1/6th of the flour with wholemeal flour, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon for ground nutmeg, and 1/2 of the sour cream with yogurt because I did not have enough sour cream on hand. The muffins can be filled up almost to the top as they do not rise so much. If they are filled up to the top, they have a lovely dome shape :) Thsi recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Good recipe, these muffins came out nice. I made the recipe non-dairy and used the Tofutti fake sour cream and margarine. I also added a little vanilla. The batter was a little too thick for me to stir so I added 1-2 tablespoons of soy milk. I have a convection oven, baked them at 390 for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Excellent Recipe. I made these for preschool class as mini muffins and they were a big hit. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I made the recipe as is. Great taste-- next time though I would use brown sugar for topping, otherwise, they will look like they're dusted with flour. I made 12 giant muffins-- I ate one out of the oven, and I'm having a hard time stopping there! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
very good !! Im not a baker by any means cooking is totally my style but my kids asked for apple muffins after picking serveral apples at a farm so i decided to try this recipie and yum !!! Only thing i added was a 1/2 t of pumpkin spice to the batter and a few dashed to the crumb topping just becuase its the season and we all loved them will def make again and def a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Actually, 4-1/2 would be more accurate. Lovely little treats. Nice, moist texture. I doubled the cinnamon in both the muffins and the topping, plus added several grinds of fresh nutmeg to the muffins. Followed the recipe pretty much exactly, with the one exception of using brown sugar in the topping in place of regular, as we love the flavor it adds in baked goods with apple. We felt it to be short on topping, and the next time, I will increase it by 50%. This recipe yielded 22 regular muffins for me, not 16, which might account for the shortage of topping. Very, very good, but because of the adjustments that needed to be made, it narrowly misses the coveted 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I cannot say enough good things about these muffins! These are by far the BEST muffins I have ever eaten or made. I only did one thing different...I used 2 cups of chopped apples. My whole family loved these. I don't think they will last long. Thanks for the GREAT recipe. I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States