Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
These were definitely not what I would call a bar, it was an apple cake. But man, was it easy and delicious. Even though I usually try to base my reviews off of the recipe exactly as written, these came out so good I just had to write a little something. Here were my few changes: doubled the apples, added a tsp of vanilla, and substituted cinnamon apple sauce for the butter. I really loved the consistancy and moistness of this cake! It reminded me of a prune cake my mother used to make, so I might try it again using prunes next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goudamanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Loved this recipe. Got lots of compliments when I took it to work. I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13 stoneware bar pan. I also, completely by accident, substituted the baking soda with baking powder which made them more bar-like and very chewy (which is great because I'm not a big fan of cake-like textures).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great recipe for utilizing quickly ripening apples. I opted for a healthier version: used whole wheat flour, twice the apples, half the butter, and instead of 1 c sugar I used 1/4 c organic sugar + 1/4 c raw honey. Also added 1/2 t cloves. Can't even tell it's a healthier version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is very very good. My husband loves it. We have been on an apple kick lately and he said this is the best apple recipe so far. I did half white sugar and half brown, and added more apples and a dash of vanilla. But other than that, I didnt change anything. Comes out like a cake rather than a bar but my husband said hes glad it did! Really good cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This recipe is amazing! My only problem was that the bars came out more cake-like than dense bars. They tasted amazing though! I substituted the walnuts for pecans and my husband and I ate them with butter pecan ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
My family loved this recipe. Made half with walnuts and half without(husband does not like walnuts). We could not get enough of them. Also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Great recipe. Easy to make and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
These turned out great! I will definitely make these again. I used Granny Smith apples as others suggested. I let the bars cool and didn't have any trouble with them falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Oh my goodness, this is absolutely to DIE for good. I used some random cheap apple that was going to go bad on me, and instead of greasing/flouring I used baking spray on my dish, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly, and this is SO good. It reminds me of the apple cake my mom used to make but lost the recipe for! I'm already imagining raisins, peanut butter, coconut, pears, lots and lots of variations :) Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Mm these were all right. Not the best. I was disappointed that they didn't look like the bar in the picture, which looks really delicious. As other reviewers have pointed out, these are extremely cakey, and even with an added dash of nutmeg and a bit of maple syrup, they still would've been bland if not for the apples. I even added an extra bit of cinnamon, but they still weren't all that flavourful. They were moist, but held together well, and I used two cups of apples. I didn't finely chop them since I wanted to be able to clearly taste the apple, since it's my favourite fruit... Oh well. They still taste good, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States