Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Great recipe! I doubled it and with coaxing filled a sided cookie sheet. It is a "looser" cake, but full of flavor. I used pecans instead of walnuts...very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manawa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Very good. It is more like a cake not like a bar at all. I didnt see the finely chopped apples. You have to cut them fine or your cake will break apart. I read some reviews first and I did add a little vanilla and more apples. All in all I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Absolutely delish! All I did was add 1/2 tsp vanilla and 2 tblsp. brown sugar. My guest loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaToNikolas
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was delicious, I will be adding it to my collection of favorite apple recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaToNikolas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
AMAZING! I am amazed by these apple bars. Well actually, its more cakey than bar cookie...Maybe thats just me, I've never had luck with these. But wow! This somehow, tastes ALOT like carrot cake. Go figure! No carrots! I didn't have walnuts so I substituted 1/2 cup of oats and 1/2 of raisins. For apples, Macintosh. To top it off, buttercream frosting with carrot shavings to decorate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I just made this tonight (Halloween) and it turned out beautifully. I am a long-time baker - and my husband said, It was the best recipe I've made in a long time. I did double the recipe & baked it in a 9 x 13 pan. I used one stick of butter and a half cup of canola oil; half white sugar & half brown; I added raisins for some of the nuts and 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg & sprinkled the cut up apples with fresh lemon. I left the peel on the apples - used Fuji - and it turned out moist with a crunchy topping. This is a winner - will make it again - a wonderful autumn and holiday dessert. Thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Delish. Just a few changes. Used half white and half brown sugar, used apple sauce instead of butter and added 1/4 tsp more cinnamon. Sooo good! Thanks a million!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
We really enjoyed these bars! - added a bit more apple (1/4 c.) and used fresh Cortland apples since those were on hand. I used about 1 tsp. cinnamon and also 2 tsp. of apple pie spice. I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13" pan. My husband can't eat nuts, so 1/2 cup of dark raisins were used to add another flavor. We were very pleased with them, ate them with a fork like a cake, but certainly these apple bars had enough body to eat like a snack - by hand. This recipe is a keeper for us. Thanks S. Powell for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These have become a favorite - both around our home and to have for others. They're so easy, delicious and such a pleasant surprise to guests. I haven't met anyone that doesn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Popular hit at my house. Used Granny Smith and Gala Apples. Increased the apples to 3 cups. Moist cake that only had a small amount left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by resa524

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cordova, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States