Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Yummy! Will be making again soon. I did make 1 adjustment. I didn't quite have 1 cup sugar so I used brown sugar to make it a full cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was solidly ok. It really need some cinnamon and nutmeg...or maybe I needed different apples, but kinda tastless overall. Of course, when served warm wtih vanilla ice cream, no one complained about the flat flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My family and I loved the apple bars. The boys are not fans of nuts. So I left the walnuts out. But topped it with caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Sorry, but this was dry, dry, dry! I used 1/3 more apple than what the recipe called for and still, it turned out more like a coffee cake rather than the moist "bar" I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frisby0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trempealeau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Just made this - can NOT believe how easy and super good this is. Try it!!! (I use pecans instead of walnuts as I am not a walnut fan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great flavor, but mine really sank in the middle due to altitude. I'd try them again, but I'd have to play with the amounts of sugar/flour/baking soda. Much more like a cake than a bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Very good and simple recipe! I used "Pie Blend" apples and had no issues with the recipe not turning out. Next time I would add a little bit of nutmeg and salt to increase the flavor slightly. Otherwise very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was delicious and so easy! But definitely turned out to be more of a cake than bars. I drizzled caramel syrup and dusted powdered sugar on top of mine after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I have a similar recipe but double the recipe to fit a 9 x 13 pan and use 1c walnuts and 1 cup raisins. i also make a maple powder sugar frosting and frost them while they are still warm. 3/4 c butter, 31/2 to 4 c poder sugar and 2 tsp mapleen maple extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine Island, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These are okay. They taste pretty good, but they don't even compare to the Apple Squares on this site. I can tell they are a modification of that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States