Ants on a Log Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
What a classic and delicious recipe! I modified it a bit to my taste, and in my opinion it tastes even better this way: I didn't have any celery, so I substituted white bread (personally, celery tastes like grass to me anyway). I spread the peanut butter on both slices, but omitted the raisins and used jelly instead. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Wow does this ever bring back memories! Sometimes the simplest things are the best. This is a great snack and it's something that's not bad for ya either. I LOVE peanut butter and would eat it on just about anything. If they would only come up with a fat-free version.....(one can only hope).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
wow... this was my favorite snack as a kid!!! Thanks for posting!!! SUch a kick back to my childhood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My kids have always loved peanut butter with celery...So when I make this for them..they go to town. Nothing to change in this recipe. It's great jus the simple way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
A favorite of my since I was little. It's also good with dried cranberries in place of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is a classic and I have been eating it for years. My wife doesn't like celery, but she eats this with bananas instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I've tried this in my 3-yr-old preschool class and it's a big hit. Last year, due to peanut allergies, we used strawberry cream cheese and Craisins...very yummy as well. A healthy after school snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Yum! These remind me of when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is the only way I enjoy raw celery! I like to cram as many "ants" on each stalk as I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Okay. I strongly dislike celery. I don't like the flavor or the texture and always leave it out of recipes. But I LOOOVE ants on a log! I can eat ridiculous amounts of it. I always use dried cherries instead of raisins because I like them better. For some reason the flavor and texture combination of the celery, peanut butter and dried fruit is just divine. I often make it when we're supposed to bring in food for a class and people always eat it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States