Anise Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This recipe was my first attempt at biscotti. Didn’t have any brandy so I used kahlua. No almonds (we are not big almond fans) but wow was this easy breezy. They plumped more than I expected so next time I will down size the loaf and make three instead of two. Son’s latest GF said oh wow this is so way better then starbucks’. She gave them a 10 son was to into eating them so say. Hubby said good cookies hun what made you make them into planks? I love my man. I just said easy to dip in your coffee that way hun. I will make them again and again. Thank you Laria for a wonderful recipe and grate directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Fabulous and easy recipe - I didn't use the brandy, but substituted lemon juice instead. Also used poppy seeds instead of aniseed (cupboard was bare!) and the end result was FANTASTIC!! Thanks so much for this crowd-pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Always a crowd pleaser! I dip one side in melted andes candies mints - it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Thanks to the original recipe writer and all the reviewers because the whole allrecipes community helped me make knock-out biscottis for my boyfriend's dad's 62nd birthday party. The changes I did were as follows: doubled the almonds (might do even more next time) and added them to the flour mixture. Used heavy whipping cream instead of brandy. For the anise extract I used 2 tsp and then added 1 tsp of almond extract. I didn't quite double the anise seed but I will next time. All in all everyone loved them as am I right now with my morning coffee-Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel 'Tha Pizza Cutta' Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Light & delicious..My tips make this recipe a breeze. I added dry roasted unsalted almonds. Give them a rough chop and add with the flour. I also oiled my hands a bit with olive oil to avoid the dough from sticking to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Wonderful! I enjoy a stronger anise flavor so I doubled the anise extract and seed. I also added half again as many almonds since that was my husband's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I Like to take this recipe and dip the ends in melted chocolate once they are cooled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Excellent! I doubled the anise extract as I didn't have anise seed. This cookie has a great texture that isn't hard to bite. It needs to be baked a little longer than 20 minutes after slicing. I will make this again, but will be sure to have anise seed on hand; as, I'm sure it would be even more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
These are really good... I used almond extract instead, but next time I'll try the spices like others suggested... You dip them in coffee and they melt in your mouth... definitely a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These are time consuming, but absoutely worth the effort. We all loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States