Anise Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Perfect. Just what I was looking for. I didn't change a thing except for the dizzle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
How do we spell DELICIOUS...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Love these. Because my husband is a diabetic, I did this recipe with 1 3/4 cup splenda and 1/4 cup sugar. Other than that, I followed exactly. Excellent! I like the idea of experimenting with the dough and ingredients too. Next time I will substitute anisette for the brandy for a more intense licorice flavor. I also copied one of the reviewers idea of standing the cut biscotti on their bottoms while they bake so there is no need to turn them. Thank you so much for sharing. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious. I've made this using milk instead of brandy, I've added mini chocolate chips to the dough, and I've doubled the vanilla... It's a great recipe that's held up to all these little changes and is fantastic in it's original form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I found the logs spread out and became flat thereby burning the bottoms. Tried several times and always same result. Don't know if should cut down on liquid. 1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made these into Almond-Lovers' Biscotti by substituting amaretto for the brandy, almond extract for the anise extract, and ground almonds for the anise seeds. Turned out lovely, but be warned, using sweet liqueur results in a super-sweet biscotti. It was easy to ameliorate the sweetness problem by dipping the biscotti in extra-dark (63%) chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was absolutely outstanding! This was my first attempt at biscotti. It is 5 star all the way. Since I had never made it before I was hesitant to make any changes. I have never kept brandy on hand before and I forgot to buy some when I was out. I had 1/3 of a cup of Jack Daniels. I know it is an entirely different taste but these turned out perfectly. I drizzled it with Ghiradelli bitter sweet chocolate and served to guests tongiht who ended up not only taking some biscotti home, but the recipe and some of my Anise seed to make it herself! YUMMY! Nothing will ever go as well with my morning coffee again. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Perfect. Didn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe! I did not add the anise seed. I will find some next time I make this. Definitely a keeper! I drizzled them with semi-sweet chocolate. I made them for holiday gifts. Hard to keep my hands off them. I will save a "few" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
The first time I tried this the loaves were hard to cut because when the knife hit an almond, they crumbled. Solution? I just chop the nuts before I put them in the batter! PERFECT! If you like licorice, use Anisette or Ouzo instead of Brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States