Anise Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made these as gifts for Christmas. (I baked them fully & will wrap each individual one in Saran Wrap, then tinfoil, then I will put in a ziploc, seal it most of the way up & suck the air out with a straw before freezing, in case anyone was wondering how to store biscotti for Christmas.) I thought these were FANTASTIC and I absolutely despise licorice (which is anise flavored). These have a very mild anise flavor, BUT I didn't have anise seed. I read at cooks.com that both caraway seed and fennel seed can be subbed for anise seed, so I chose caraway because fennel seeds are huge and green. The caraway is good but not everyone is going to like it because caraway is so distinctively associated with savory goods. Fennel might've been the better sub, but hey, anyone doesn't like them can just give them right back to me. I will glaze them before I re-package them as gifts; freezing them glazed will result in a dull gloss and possibly a sticky thaw. Thanks for the recipe -- I halved it but wished I'd made the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Terrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These were very difficult to cut.. but the flavour was wonderful! Dip these guys in a cup of tea and it won't matter what shape they're in :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I have a favorite biscotti recipe that I've used for years, but wanted to try these because of the addition of brandy (I was cooking for a wedding reception and wanted a more "adult" biscotti. These are just lovely. I prepared a week in advance and they stayed crisp, the flavor deepened and when I opened the tin container, what an aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
It is a great recipe. First time i messed it up, as i melted the butter. Pls do not do that. and after mixing the flour and the wet mixture and the dry mixture i folded the dough with a spatula. That gave the thick consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because as a base recipe, its amazing. I did swap out the anise extract and seeds for vanilla extract and cinnamon because I just don't like the taste of anise. And I used milk as my liquid instead of the alcohol. I kept everything else the exact same. In the future though ill toast my sliced biscotti at a higher temp (325 degrees would work best for my oven). My oven didn't want to toast anything at 300 degrees, even after 30 minutes. If anyone is hesitant to try this because of the anise (like I was), don't let it stop you. You can switch out those flavors with ones you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I've tried quite a few biscotti recipes and by far this is the best! Sooooo goooooood! No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
love it!!!! i can not stop making these. everyone who eats them loves them!!! the recipe was easy to follow and they come out perfect everytime!!! thank you so much, they are better than anything you could get at the store!!!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This is absolutely the very best Biscotti recipe. I made it exactly as written and I get raves. I can't keep them around and coffee shops want them. I'm going to try them with Kahlua instead of brandy to see if I get more of a coffee flavor but that's just for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I was pretty happy with this recipe. It was the first time I made biscotti. I probably would add more anise seed and maybe some more anise extract. I really love the flavor. I halved the amount of brandy, but next time I would feel more confident with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States