Anise Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I must say this is very good recipe my two year old just loved them.I cut the recipe in half i used milk in place of the brandy and it called for only 3/4 teaspoon of anise extract and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract i added 2 1/2 teaspoons of anise extract and 2 teaspoons of vanilla. They came out bland for my taste but i do love the flavor of anise and will add more the next time i make these.For anyone who wants to try and make these this is a great base recipe i suggest you give it a try. The texture of the cookie is nice and crunchy just tweak the flavoring to fit your taste. The best part about this Recipe is you can put just about anything you like into it just get creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I love these! I have made them several times now, and they are delicious! The anise flavor is great! I didn´t change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Wow, delicious!!! I made these in hopes of mailing some as a gift. Didn't have brandy or anise extract so used milk and almond extract. They taste great! The only problems I had were being patient enough to let them cool (before cutting into sections)and not eating them before mailing some. Guess I will be making more batches soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
These are FABULOUS and so EASY to make. Makes are large batch too! I used an orange liqueur since I didn't have any brandy. I melted chocolate chips on the stovetop and then drizzled over each cookie. SO Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I had older Italian American women in my Parish asking for this recipe. It is hands down the best Anise Biscotti I have made. I used Star Anise Seed ground up instead of the Anise Seed. I find it adds a richer flavor without the seeds that can hurt people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These are my favorite biscotti's. Just the perfect amount of anise for my tastebuds! The first batch I made just as the directions said. I've started playing with it now and I love to dip them in chocolate! To store then I wrapped them individualy in plastic wrap. They also freeze great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Great recipe! This is the true Italian biscotti I have known and loved. Flavor variations on this recipe are endless. Substituting lemon juice and lemon extract for anise extract (keep or omit the brandy), zest for seeds, and 2 cups of craisins for the almonds makes a great twist for those not fond of the licorice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I did not make this recipe, but I used my mom's recipe from long ago--very similar. I screwed everything up. They fell apart when I cut them; some burned, I did not push down on them. OH my. I advice any newcomers to biscotti to watch any of the wonderful videos on the internet. I did it too late, but I will try again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I decided to soak the anise seeds in a 1/3 cup of grand marnier for about 20 minutes. (while I went to the store) and I also added a little amaretto. Very easy and very delicious! This one gets passed along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
These are so good!! These will definitely be on my regular bakin list and will be terrific for giving as gifts! I didn't have brandy so I used orange juice and an extra 1/2 tsp vanilla. They are light, crispy, and have excellent anise flavor. I think this recipe coul be easily converted to have any favors you would want in a biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booksandbutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States