Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This bread was very good. Plus, it made my kitchen smell amazing. I will make this again. There is nothing better than homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I chose this recipe as my first foray into bread baking and I'm so glad I did! Thank you to all the reviewers who helped me make he decision! This is super easy and comes out delicious! I did not need the full 6 cups of flour, I end up using about 5 1/2. I also took the suggestions to cut the sugar by half, and I personally would not want the bread any sweeter. The rises took longer than the recipe states but I just know to make bread on a day I'm in no hurry. This is my standard recipe! I love how it can be changed up without affecting the end result. I made with half wheat flour and some flax meal last time and it came out just as perfect as the original. Cannot say enough good things!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheldon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Made just as directed but rolls instead of loaves. My family LOVED them. So easy and very good. My new favorite bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickerz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I use this recipe to make all my bread. If you want it less dense and less sweet, just let it rise more. The yeast will eat more of the sugar and produce more gas for a lighter loaf. I think the people complaining about it being too sweet or too dense have not proofed their yeast properly or have old yeast. The first time I made this bread I went to the store while it raised the first time and forgot it for over three hours. It was ginormous! It still came out OK, but slightly dense because the yeast had trouble rising the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InkBuddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsLewald
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Made this bread yesterday and it was PERFECT, I wish i could eat it but sadly i can't because I'm having problem with gluten stuff so i can't have wheat or anything that contains gluten anymore. My Hubby and my son loves the bread. Thank you for the recipe, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Yum yum yum!! I have tried so many bread recipes and this one is the best so far. I am definitely making this bread every week. My kids loved it!! I added all the sugar but next time I will add less. We love hawaiian bread and this bread tastes just like it!! I let it rise for an hour instead of 30 minutes the second time and i placed a pan in the bottom of the oven before I turned it on. Once it was preheated I added 5 ice cubes, the steam helps you get a brown crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Made as is. Absolutely a stable in my house from now on. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I have made this four times so far and each time my friends and family have gobbled up both loaves in one to two day! It is so simple and truly delicious! Easy bread recipe for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I have been baking bread for many years. This is the best white bread ever. Adjust the sugar according to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I just don't like breads that contain too much sugar. It's too sweet to me. I'll stick with regular white breads. I believe adding excessive sugar doesn't make things delicious, rather opposite. This recipe is one of the proof of my belief.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States