Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by kngiggles
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Great recipe! As you can see I did some different things with it. Instead of two cups water I used 1 cp water 1cp almond milk. I also cut the sugar to 1/4 cp and only used 4 1/2 cups all purpose flour. Came out PERFECT! Dinner rolls, cinnamon bread, and regular bread. Will always make it this way from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kngiggles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda Faris
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is the first time every making bread. It was easy & turned out great. Even though the recipe said it makes 2 loaves, I made 1 loaf & 12 rolls. My kids ate all the rolls the same night I made them & asked me to make more!! Will definitely make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Faris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I use this recipe in my bread machine. It turns out wonderful! I just cut in half to fit my machine and dump ingredients in and my machine does the work. Best recipe ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
It's a little too sweet, I made two loaves and used the rest for cinnamon rolls. The rolls were great, but the loaves had a dense texture, I think maybe because it calls for oil rather than shortening? However, it is quick, easy and pretty foolproof so if you are in a hurry to make some, use this recipe. Because of the denseness, it slices well. Would be great for Thanksgiving as the texture and sweetness lends itself to being dipped in candied yam juice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlet Estes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Great flavor! My whole family loved it!! I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I used 6 cups of flour, but not bread flour and only 3 tablespoons of sugar. My mom loved this bread but only used 4 cups of regular flour and a little more sugar than I did. We thought the original recipe had too much sugar in it. It didn't get done enough on the inside for me, either. It was too doughy. I put it back in the oven to bake some more. A lot of work for something disappointing tasting. I will not make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was the very first item I have ever baked and it turned out wonderfully. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
My Husband loves this bread. I make it all the time. I only used a tablespoon of the sugar or the bread is too sweet. Excellent recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHISPERIII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
First bread recipe I've ever tried and now I'm hooked! I've been delivering it to all my friends and family and now they think I'm a great cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Love this recipe. And so does my family. Made two loaves and it was gone in a day and a half. This is a dense bread which is why I like it. It taste fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States