Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
What a great recipe! This has become my staple recipe for bread and rolls! Unless i am making cinnamon rolls with the dough I cut the sugar in half. I also make it in my Kitchenmaid mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PIRUZ
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Amazing first bread I made thank you for your amazing recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Made correctly this bread is soft, fluffy, and delicious!!! I don't know if this will help anyone, but I too had problems with my bread coming out dense. I think I've pin pointed a few thing that might be contributing to this. The first few times I made this I paid extra attention to the yeast due to the reviews. Then I got into a hurry once and made a few errors. The result being dense and not so great bread. I put together a few tips since then to prevent this problem. 1. Having your water too hot can kill your yeast, it really does only need to be warm! 2. Use a smaller bowl for your dough to set in. The dough uses the sides of the bowl to 'cling' to as it rises. Too large of a bowl can cause your dough to sink into itself. 3. Really watch your flour and salt! Salt will hinder the growth of the yeast, you'll notice a distinct decline in the height of your dough if you use too much salt. The recommended amount in the recipe should be followed closely. Following these tips alone I've not had to start weighting my flour out. If you continue having issues after making these changes I would recommend doing that as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Tried this recipe today. It's awesome. Made the dough with my bread maker then just followed the rest of the directions and made two loaves. Just had a slice.......delicious! This will be my go to recipe from now on. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
have made this several times when I want an easy bread to make. I would def recommend cutting the sugar down, I usually cut it in half. A good trick for making sure your dough rises is before you start your recipe, heat your oven to 200 degrees F and once it's there, immediately shut it off. By the time you are ready to let the dough rise, it will be optimal temp. If you think it's too hot, open the door and cool it for a bit. Works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Super easy and totally goofproof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Griggs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adriana Gomez
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Great recipe! Very yummy, got it right the first time. To get the flour right, I pour a bunch in a big bowl and whisk it for a bit. It is quicker and less messy than sifting it, and just as effective in my experience. I am making peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for a mother-daughter tea party, so I wanted pink bread. I added red food coloring and a half teaspoon of raspberry extract, just for fun. Turned out awesome! I added the photo if you wanted to see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriana Gomez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Skinner
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Just tried the first slice, had to have a second one too! It is still slightly warm ( I know I should wait until it has cooled but just couldn't stand the temptation) This is by far the prettiest, soft and fluffiest, tallest, bread I have ever made. The aroma in our home is so wonderful too! Mine rose more than double in less than an hour and the second rise was a good 2 1/2 inches above the top of the loaf pan when I checked on it in 30 minutes. I was afraid it would fall in baking due to 'oven spring' but happily the loaves held their beautiful risen shape and turned a lovely golden color while baking ..... Very pleased with the outcome of this recipe. Made it strictly as written and used the breadguy's Kitchenaid directions for mixing and kneading. I will be using this wonderful recipe often. Thanks for sharing. I shared a photo of the bread before baking and how high it rose in the 30 min. time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Skinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I didn't have any milk but wanted to bake bread, and found this recipe. I made 2 adaptations since I've never tried bread flour used all-purpose. Used 5 cups instead of 6 cups of flour. Delicious, light and fluffy. I like the result better than my regular recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shannadra
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I love it!!! Made it the first time tonight and am proud!!! Awesome :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 3,659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States