Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Prefect recipe for pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Absolutely perfect! This is the first time I have made white bread and I found a winner! The recipe was fail proof for me - it rose perfectly and baked in the exact time of the recipe. I used rapid rise yeast because that is wheat I had in the house. I actually added the yeast to the sugar and then added the water. I was afraid the water would cool down too much if I mixed the sugar and water first. I ended up using not quite - 5-1/2 cups of flour to get to the correct consistency. I have a hard time distinguishing what sounds like "hollow" to check for doneness, so, I just checked it with an instant read thermometer. I took out about 190 (based on what I read on the King Arthur flour site) and it rose to about 198 degrees. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I love this recipe, and after adjusting the sugar, have three variations I use: the original is great for sweet rolls, 1/3-1/2c is good for toast-and-jam uses, and 1/3c with 1c wheat flour replacing 1c bread flour is excellent sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I've made this several times. It has consistently turned out great. I love the fact that it makes 2 loaves so I can have one and give warm slices to my neighbors all around. I must say, they are very happy to see me walking up the drive with my tin foiled gift. Great and easy recipe. I recommend 100%
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
this is a very nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Make this bread all the time for my family. So easy and simple and taste fantastic. Most of the time I cut down on the sugar but otherwise, don't change a thing! Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this once, and thought it seemed very heavy and thought I did something wrong. After reading the reviews however, I realize this is just how it comes out. This bread has a very good flavor though, and in fact, I have some more going as I type this. A side note though, if you are mixing my hand like I am, be ready for a work out. this dough is no joke to knead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I would hange the sugar level to 1/3 cup! That is still plenty of sugar for the yeast to grow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Delicious I had no bread flour used all purpose came out softer light bread. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I just tried this recipe and followed "breadguy's" instructions. worked perfectly. putting the bread in the oven to rise works wonders. This is the fluffiest bread I have ever made. It is very sweet, which I like but I might try making it with less sugar next time as the sweetness doesn't work with all sandwiches. The person who posted saying it was dense probably didn't let it rise enough on the second rise or had a draft. I have been struggling with making bread for years and I finally started doing a proper second rise and the dense bread is no more! Good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States