Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I was looking for a new recipe for white bread when my DIL found this one. I've been making bread for 30+ years and this is the easiest one I've found. Not only is it delicious but it cuts the rising time in half. This will be my go to recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing it Peg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I've never made bread before and wanted to give it a try. I used this recipe and followed it exactly. This is so easy for first timers. My bread came out beautifully. Smelled wonderful and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This bread turned out great! Very soft and flavourful, with a nice crust on the outside (not too chewy). I did, however make a few simple modifications. First off, I read all the other reviews about how it was too sweet, so I used only 1/3c plus 2 tablespoons of sugar. Perfect sweetness! I also used potato water (water left after boiling potatoes) instead of regular water. I used regular all purpose flour which worked just fine (maybe better if you like a softer bread). And I turned them into large buns baking at 27 minutes. I also brushed them with egg wash (an egg beaten with a tablespoon of water). Couldn't be happier with it!! Edit: I added an egg to the dough and made it into my own cinnamon rolls :) mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
this just did not work out at all. Didn't rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weslaco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
My first real bread that turned out. It's so much more cost effective to make your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I've tried every recipe under the sun when it comes to white bread, this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsDerek
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Easy beautiful bread. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe didn't live up to the hype. I followed the recipe as is, and I didn't find it very sweet at all. It just seemed like plain Jane sandwhich bread -- not a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is a great white bread. I only used 1/3 cup sugar and am glad I did! This was sweet enough with that much and it would have been way too overpoweringly sweet with the full amount. This is my first bread, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States