Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I'd never made bread from scratch before. Almost a fool proof recipe. I used my ninja dough blade to mix the first batch, I didn't check the temp on my water before adding the yeast, and I ended up putting all the dough into my 13x4x4 USA bread pan (worth every penny guys). The bread was great for the most part, but a little underdone in the center, rose out of the pan a bit, and it had a slight "yeasty" taste. The next batch I made, I actually made sure the water temp was around 110, and I put only 2/3 of the dough into my 13x4x4 bread pan...I put the remaining 1/3 of dough into a separate 9x5x2.75 pan. I also kneaded the dough by hand this time (for only about 2 min). --- TURNED OUT PERFECT. I mean it is ridiculous how painless this was to make. I used it for sandwiches, toast, and dipping into an herbed olive oil...yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Photo by Jeffrey Brown
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! It's so easy and it turns out so great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Have made this recipe twice in the last few days and it is awesome. ....love the texture of the bread???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This recipe is very forgiving. I am glad I chose it as my very first bread recipe. I have progressed to many more advanced techniques over the past year, but I find myself using this recipe or a slight variant repeatedly, especially cinnamon rolls and sandwich bread for the kids as it is sweet as written. Of course you could reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Had not made bread in years since the bread machine broke. Wife bought me a KitchenAid mixer so figured I'd give this a shot. 1st time was a success and we love the taste/texture. Making another batch today. Literally just dump all the dry ingredients into the mixer, including the yeast, let it run for a minute, then add 112-degree water (I do measure the temp), let it run for a minute then add the oil. To rise I put the bowl in the utility room where the furnace and water heater are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Reliable recipe that never fails to turn out. I have made exactly as written (except for halving it so I make one loaf at a time) at least 20 times. It is very forgiving re rise time, room temperature (winter versus summer), yeast age, etc. It is simply reliable, and the result is very good bread that holds together well in the toaster for a great breakfast (with a little butter). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blue_eyed_baker
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Only thing I changed was I used a little under 6 cups of all purpose flour. This was my first time making a loaf of bread and I was not disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Easiest yeast recipe I've made. I made dinner rolls with it. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timmi Winther

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Finally succeeded in baking bread and it is delicious! Only thing I would do next time is decrease the amount of sugar. But overall, this is an outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is a wonderful and easy recipe and even makes wonderful dinner rolls I am making them for Thanksgiving Dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States