Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
My husband is from Trinidad and grew up on homemade bread. I've tried SO many recipes some with success, others not so much! BUT this recipe is AWESOME!! SOOO easy and it's fluffiest, yummy bread ever! I did read other reviews and decided to reduce the sugar as well… other than that I followed the recipe to T. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Great recipe, although my dough was really gooey and sticky and hard to knead. Not sure what I did wrong? The end result was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
so good couldn't get better came out perfectly my kids couldn't have enough it tasted so good they cant wait to make more.will make it again soon. I followed the recipe exactly to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Wow! Best bread I have ever had and not too difficult to make. I ran out of bread flower at 2.5 cups and just used whole wheat flower and it still tastes spectacular (a bit more dense but I like it that way). Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
As per other recommendations, I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup. I also used all-purp. flour and it came out beautiful and delicious. Melted butter and a sprinkling of salt on the top of the finished product was an added bonus. 2 words: fool proof. Printing this one out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Yum! Side note: took about 2 hours for my dough to rise an inch above the pan, rather than a half hour-- it could've been the quality of the yeast I used. I just wanted to share in case someone else ran into this issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
So easy to make!!!! Perfect flavor. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Palka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I was looking for a new recipe for white bread when my DIL found this one. I've been making bread for 30+ years and this is the easiest one I've found. Not only is it delicious but it cuts the rising time in half. This will be my go to recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing it Peg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I've never made bread before and wanted to give it a try. I used this recipe and followed it exactly. This is so easy for first timers. My bread came out beautifully. Smelled wonderful and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This bread turned out great! Very soft and flavourful, with a nice crust on the outside (not too chewy). I did, however make a few simple modifications. First off, I read all the other reviews about how it was too sweet, so I used only 1/3c plus 2 tablespoons of sugar. Perfect sweetness! I also used potato water (water left after boiling potatoes) instead of regular water. I used regular all purpose flour which worked just fine (maybe better if you like a softer bread). And I turned them into large buns baking at 27 minutes. I also brushed them with egg wash (an egg beaten with a tablespoon of water). Couldn't be happier with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States