Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I think this is the best bread recipe I have ever had! Super soft moist, and fluffy. Just the perfect amount of sweetness! Super quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This made two beautiful loaves. Very dense, though. Makes great toast but not light enough for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHEFKATY2
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
this is a great, simple recipe! the bread turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melisa Henley Hansen
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Great simple recipe, I let it rise a bit longer to ensure bread was not to dense. Followed the recipe this time but will for sure cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup as many suggested! This will be one to keep and make weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taihw
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I've made this recipe and some personal variations of it multiple times, and it's always turned out great. It's dense but soft, good for breakfast or snack because of the extra sweetness, but not quite as well suited for sandwiches or dinner breads. It does take quite a bit of kneading to get it super soft, but for me it's worth it. Now I make it with honey instead of white sugar -- I replace the sugar with 1/2 cup of honey and reduce the water by 1/8th of a cup, but it works great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
What a great recipe! This has become my staple recipe for bread and rolls! Unless i am making cinnamon rolls with the dough I cut the sugar in half. I also make it in my Kitchenmaid mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PIRUZ
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Amazing first bread I made thank you for your amazing recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Made correctly this bread is soft, fluffy, and delicious!!! I don't know if this will help anyone, but I too had problems with my bread coming out dense. I think I've pin pointed a few thing that might be contributing to this. The first few times I made this I paid extra attention to the yeast due to the reviews. Then I got into a hurry once and made a few errors. The result being dense and not so great bread. I put together a few tips since then to prevent this problem. 1. Having your water too hot can kill your yeast, it really does only need to be warm! 2. Use a smaller bowl for your dough to set in. The dough uses the sides of the bowl to 'cling' to as it rises. Too large of a bowl can cause your dough to sink into itself. 3. Really watch your flour and salt! Salt will hinder the growth of the yeast, you'll notice a distinct decline in the height of your dough if you use too much salt. The recommended amount in the recipe should be followed closely. Following these tips alone I've not had to start weighting my flour out. If you continue having issues after making these changes I would recommend doing that as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Tried this recipe today. It's awesome. Made the dough with my bread maker then just followed the rest of the directions and made two loaves. Just had a slice.......delicious! This will be my go to recipe from now on. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
have made this several times when I want an easy bread to make. I would def recommend cutting the sugar down, I usually cut it in half. A good trick for making sure your dough rises is before you start your recipe, heat your oven to 200 degrees F and once it's there, immediately shut it off. By the time you are ready to let the dough rise, it will be optimal temp. If you think it's too hot, open the door and cool it for a bit. Works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States