Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This was my first attempt at making pizza crust at home (other than working at a pizza place making dough in my high school days) and it turned out wonderfully. This definitely makes enough for two 12 inch regular crusts, but if you are looking for thin thin crust, this could make three. I used corn meal on my pan instead of oil and that worked fine (no sticking to the pan). Because I didn't want bland pizza from using whole wheat flour, I used "Exquisite Pizza Sauce" also on this site and it had a fabulous taste. I made one pizza right after making the dough and refrigerated in plastic wrap the other portion for use the next day. If you refrigerate, make sure you let the dough sit for a half hour or so because mine didn't rise like the first one did because it didn't "proof" properly. It still tasted great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
Excellent recipe... I used 2 T of honey instead of the 1 tsp of sugar for the yeast. Made 2 thin crust pizza's but next time i will divide the crust into 3 portions for a more thinner crust. Used Organic stone ground w/w flour and organic extra virgin first cold press olive oil. I did use non stick pizza sheets and did not oil the pans and they were fine. Next time shall add some seasonings to the crust just for a change. for toppings I used fresh mushrooms, tomatoes, red pepper, pizza sauce, broccoli 'dust' (leftover brocolli floret crumbs from home made frozen brocolli, fresh baby spinach, part skim mozzarella and grated parmesan cheeses. Very yummy, 2 of us ate 2/3rds of one pizza. :) will definitely make again soon, may even add some ground flax or toasted wheat germ for added healthyness :) Instructions were very easy to follow, and enjoyed the work out from the kneading ;) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I thought this was an excellent recipe. So did all of my kids. I thought the dough was going to be too tight to do much rising but it did fine. I got three 12" thin crusts out of this instead of 2 but I wanted really thin crusts. It stood up well to all of the toppings and had an excellent flavor and texture. Thanks for sharing an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
I really liked this pizza crust. It was just as it was described - soft on the inside and crisp on the outside. This was the first time I had made a homemade pizza crust and it was relatively easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This pizza crust works wonderfully! I added about 2 t Italian seasoning and an extra t of salt. Freezing it is no problem either. I made mine and let it rise, then froze it for a couple days. I let in thaw on the counter for about 12 hours and it was ready to go at dinnertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
I topped mine with grilled chicken, white onion, cheddar and mozzarella and it was delicious! I reheated it the next day and it was still great. The crust was a touch undercooked in the centre but overall it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I loved this pizza base. It had a different flavour to it that I cant quite put my finger on, but I think thats what makes me like it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This crust was amazing. It was soft and chewy on the inside and crispy on the outside. I've always tried to make a whole wheat crust and was always unsuccessful. It takes a little bit more time than most crusts but it's well worth the time it takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTCOCOA23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This is the best whole wheat crust I've made to date. I went ahead and put it in my bread machine, on the dough cycle. Turned out really nice. I used this recipe for the crust on the BBQ Chicken Pizza, and it was really yummy. This crust came out a little thicker than pizza bought at the store, but we thought it was really filling that way, and it wasn't too doughy or super thick, just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
I made this with all whole-wheat flour, no white flour, and it was excellent. I froze half the dough after letting it rise, and used it a week later to make an equally tasty healthy pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States