Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Definitely a keeper! I tried this recipe for the first time last night, and followed the suggestions of substituting 2 TBL honey for the sugar, and all whole wheat flour instead of the mix, and EVOO of course. I did not use a bread machine. Forgot to mix in the italian seasonings, but will try that next time. For thin crust, I agree that this is enough to make 3 crusts. If you want to dissolve the honey in the water and still have it at 110 for the yeast, I suggest starting with very hot water, and let it cool after you mix in the honey. It's winter time and everything is cold here so that method worked perfect for me. I also heated the oven to "warm" and turned it off as soon as it reached temp for a warm place to put the dough to rise. For this too you want the oven to cool a bit as the "keep warm" setting is around 170 for most ovens, and you only need 80-85. For a nice crispy crust, pre-cooking it is a must. I topped it with pesto, smoked chicken and sauteed red onions, mushrooms, arugula, broccoli, shredded carrots & low fat cheese. Very different but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My husband was soo impressed with this crust, he kept raving about it. It was light and crispy like a cracker but very flavorful. I made the recipe as directed above, I enjoyed the mix of whole wheat and white flour. Wouldn't change a thing, the recipe was time consuming yet fairly simple to put together. Highly recommended. I am actually making it again tomorrow with a pesto sauce and tomato and cheese toppings. I took the advice of another user and precooked the crust using a pizza stone at 500 degrees, toasting both sides for about 5-7 minutes before taking it out and adding the sauce and toppings. Be sure to poke a few holes in the crust before you pre-cook or you will see large bubbles (some people like that though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Thanks for sharing the recipe just made it tonight by far this is the best whole wheat pizza recipe I found!!! Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sorella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe! After reading other reviews, I decided to cut the recipe in half. I'm glad I did because it made two large sized thin crust pizzas. This was a very easy recipe and I will defintely use this as my only pizza dough recipe from now on. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I have been using this recipe for years and LOVE it! It's really simple and the directions are great. I also use all wheat flour and bake for 5 or 6 minutes at 500 then add toppings and bake again at 425 for 10 - 15 minutes (until the cheese browns). It comes out great every time! My family and friends all love my pizzas! My sister even asked for the crusts for Christmas a couple years ago! Sometimes I double the recipe and freeze the crusts. They are still amazing! Kudos to Marla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
just made it for dinner and it's super delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Stenholm
Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
really good and really easy. Followed the recipe as written, minus the suggestion from others to do 3 and 1/4 cups whole wheat flour (I actally did white whole wheat flour). I think next time I will add a touch more oil, salt and sugar. I made two thin pizzas. I think next time I will leave as a whole to make one thicker crust pizza. Next time I will use less cornmeal on the bottom of the pan. I let it rise an hour the first time, and then an hour the second time. I think this would be good to turn into breadsicks and add in some herbs to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for! Next time I think I'll try using all whole wheat flour and making the crust thicker and making it more like a bowl. But definitely going to use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morovel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I also added flax seed to the dough for extra health benefits--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is a wonderful pizza crust and so good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States