Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for pizza crust. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The dough was delicious, but the texture was more like bread than a pizza crust- too fluffy and soft for my taste, but I might use the recipe for dinner rolls in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Changed flour ration, white vs. wheat. Made 2 crusts. Added garlic seasoning. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
OUTSTANDING!!! I, too opted for using 3 1/2 cups of wheat flour, as white flour gives me TERRIBLE heartburn...the 1/2 c was actually used to flour the work area...it was fantastic! I made mine thin and rectaangular, so I didn't need the second ball of dough and froze it! I didn't feel like making a homemade sauce, and tried out 2 tiny cans of Hunt's tomato sauce seasoned with garlic and basil (HINT: all that's on the label is "Hunt's Sauce")..it was shockingly good! Then topped with generous portions of mozzarella, turkey sausage and turkey pepperoni, fresh mushrooms onions and tri colored bell peppers, and of course a bit more cheese!...Baked for 15 minutes, which would have been ok for some, but I like a really crispy crust (which I folded over to give a small amount of thickness) and baked for another 10 minutes...AWESOME THX FOR THE RECIPE AND SUGGESTIONS FROM THE COMMUNITY!!! Can't wait to try this as a white chicken or chrimp and mushroom pizza!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I have been looking for a good whole wheat pizza dough and by using just whole grain, whole wheat flour, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Simple but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barkleylloyd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Simply amazing! What a wonderful pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this for my family because we wanted a healthier alternative for pizza nights and it was a hit!! My boys gobbled it down and DH loved it!! We all know the crust of a pizza is the hardest to get down but I think this recipe does a great job! I also substitute honey for sugar and use 100% whole wheat flour. I added pizza spices to the crust and placed it all in my bread maker in the dough cycle...came out perfect! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Definitely a keeper! I tried this recipe for the first time last night, and followed the suggestions of substituting 2 TBL honey for the sugar, and all whole wheat flour instead of the mix, and EVOO of course. I did not use a bread machine. Forgot to mix in the italian seasonings, but will try that next time. For thin crust, I agree that this is enough to make 3 crusts. If you want to dissolve the honey in the water and still have it at 110 for the yeast, I suggest starting with very hot water, and let it cool after you mix in the honey. It's winter time and everything is cold here so that method worked perfect for me. I also heated the oven to "warm" and turned it off as soon as it reached temp for a warm place to put the dough to rise. For this too you want the oven to cool a bit as the "keep warm" setting is around 170 for most ovens, and you only need 80-85. For a nice crispy crust, pre-cooking it is a must. I topped it with pesto, smoked chicken and sauteed red onions, mushrooms, arugula, broccoli, shredded carrots & low fat cheese. Very different but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My husband was soo impressed with this crust, he kept raving about it. It was light and crispy like a cracker but very flavorful. I made the recipe as directed above, I enjoyed the mix of whole wheat and white flour. Wouldn't change a thing, the recipe was time consuming yet fairly simple to put together. Highly recommended. I am actually making it again tomorrow with a pesto sauce and tomato and cheese toppings. I took the advice of another user and precooked the crust using a pizza stone at 500 degrees, toasting both sides for about 5-7 minutes before taking it out and adding the sauce and toppings. Be sure to poke a few holes in the crust before you pre-cook or you will see large bubbles (some people like that though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States