Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This crust is good and simple and works out great for cooking pizzas on the grill. Will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
What I liked best about this recipe is that the directions are very simple. It has basic ingredients, which can be found at the local market, and also instructions that are simple to follow as one, two, and three. It is a fast recipe that produces a yummy crust that can be topped with anything from mushrooms to pineapples. Now, when making the pizza dough I ran into a couple small snags. I was getting the yeast ready, and ended up making my water too hot, which then killed the yeast. The water needs to be around 110 degrees to activate the yeast. If you don’t have a thermometer just heat the water until it is warm, but not scolding hot. Another thing is that I didn’t use all of the white flour the recipe called for. I used about 2/3 cups for my flour when mixing, because if I had added any more it would have made the dough dry. It is good to keep the dough a little moist. I discovered the best way to tell when it is ready, is when it doesn’t stick to my hands when kneading it. I would suggest watching the dough closely, so that too much flour doesn’t get added. The last issue is the timing. I cooked the pizza at 350 for 20 minutes, and it came out well done the recipe said; cook it at 425 for 20 minutes, which would have left the pizza burnt. I strongly suggest you keep to 350 and ignore the 425. If it doesn’t cook all the way in 20 minutes just leave it in for a few minutes longer. I toped my pizza with mozzarella cheese, pepperonis, pineapple and spinach and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Wow what an amazing dough recipe, I peferred to use all whole wheat flour so I followed the reviews and used 31/4 of flour. It was excellent tasting, and making it with the electric stand mixer did all the work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Amazing whole wheat crust recipe! I have never made homemade pizza, but dying to try it. We used all organic ingredients and followed the recipe to a tee, using half of the recipe for the thinner crust. We topped it with grilled eggplant, roasted Roma tomatoes and red onion, and a sprinkling of parmesan and Italian seasoning. Delicious! The crust held together beautifully for a thin crust and was golden brown on the bottom. Nice light whole wheat taste. It's exciting to know we have another crust in the freezer! We can't wait to have a few friends over for pizza, wine, and movie night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This crust is so yummy, so easy to work with, perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
We were very pleased with the consistency and most importantly, the taste. Easy and quick to make as well. This is definately a keeper recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I just recently switched to using more whole wheat flour in all my cooking. I make homemade pizza about once a week and was in need of a new recipe that included whole wheat flour. I followed this recipe and made it in my breadmaker. This made a great pizza crust! Easy to roll out! And exactly what I was looking for! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumof5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as written and it is a very good dough. I make 3 pizzas out of it. I also roll it out over corn meal the last time before I stretch out and it adds a great texture, but it is great make it as is too. The only down is that it has to be a weekend meal because it takes a long time to rise, but hey it's dough what can you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Good. Not great. I'll keep looking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 724) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States