Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Incredible! I modified the recipe a little using only whole wheat flour (3 1/4 cups) and substituted honey for the sugar. I an extra teaspoon of salt and added 1 t. italian seasoning to the dough for added flavor. I put the ingredients in the bread machine on the dough setting and let it do the work for me!! I precooked the crust for 5 min at 500 degrees and then added the ingredients and cooked it for an additional 14 minutes at 425. Pizza came out PERFECT! even those at the table who were skeptical of whole wheat crust RAVED about this recipe. we will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1723 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I tweaked it just a bit. Since I'm doing South Beach, I used 3-1/4 c of whole wheat flour and no white flour. I also added 1 tbl of basil and 1/2 tbl of oregano to the mix. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine. I baked the crust at 500 degrees for 4 minutes and then put the ingredients on and baked it for an additional 6 minutes at 425 degrees. It came out crispy on the outside and chewy inside. What a great recipe and so easy when you use a bread machine! Since I had plenty of dough left over, I used it to make some breadsticks. I baked them for 3 minutes at 450 degrees, took them out of the oven and brushed them with melted Smart Balance spread, sprinkled a mixture of parmesan cheese and Kosher salt on the top, and baked them for an additional 4 minutes. We dipped them in the leftover pizza sauce. So good! And since I didn't have to feel guilty eating pizza since I'm on South Beach, they were even better. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
726 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
OK, so I read all the reviews, and decided to tweak the recipe taking pages from a few of the reviewers. I used all whole wheat flour (3 1/4c) because I'm doing the South Beach diet. I also added 2tbs of Italian Seasoning to the flour mixture, and put everything in my bread machine, using the "whole wheat dough" cycle. I then prebaked the crusts at 500 for 6 minutes, added the toppings and continued baking at 425 for another 6-7 minutes. I was AMAZED at 1.) how much dough there was. Easily enough for 2 thick crusts or 3 thin crusts, and 2.) how much it tastes like regular pizza crust. My husband even said he couldn't tell the difference! I would recommend this to anyone for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
485 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENENIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
It tastes good but it is not whole wheat unless you use all whole wheat flour. This recipe should be called "Wheat Pizza Crust" I try to eat only whole grains and want people to know this distinction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nourishyrsoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Excellent! i did what others did and used only whole wheat flour - I used 3-1/4 c. It turned out wonderful. I meant to add some other spices, but forgot - it still was fabulous. I made 1 thick crust pizza...baked the crust alone for 5 min at 500 degrees, then added the sauce and toppings and cooked for almost 15 min. at 425 degrees. My husband who usually doesn't like my cooking - and doesn't like pizza loved it. So did my boys (5 & 2yrs) This was a big hit! Will make again many times. I made it with a 1/2 a jar of alfredo sauce for the sauce and topped with chicken, onions and garlic sauteed in olive oil. Topped with part skim mozzarella. EXCELLENT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
Excellent recipe... I used 2 T of honey instead of the 1 tsp of sugar for the yeast. Made 2 thin crust pizza's but next time i will divide the crust into 3 portions for a more thinner crust. Used Organic stone ground w/w flour and organic extra virgin first cold press olive oil. I did use non stick pizza sheets and did not oil the pans and they were fine. Next time shall add some seasonings to the crust just for a change. for toppings I used fresh mushrooms, tomatoes, red pepper, pizza sauce, broccoli 'dust' (leftover brocolli floret crumbs from home made frozen brocolli, fresh baby spinach, part skim mozzarella and grated parmesan cheeses. Very yummy, 2 of us ate 2/3rds of one pizza. :) will definitely make again soon, may even add some ground flax or toasted wheat germ for added healthyness :) Instructions were very easy to follow, and enjoyed the work out from the kneading ;) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
I was very happy with this recipe!! I have had trouble using yeast in the past. Well, the directions in this recipe were totally clear and easy to follow. I had no trouble and the results were fantastic! I threw a bunch of dried herbs into the flour mixture for flavor. This rose very well and made two pizzas. Just like the description says: soft and chewy in the middle and crisp on the outside. The bottom and middle were fully cooked too (I've had trouble with doughy-ness in the past...) I pre-baked at 500 degrees for 5 minutes (without any sauce or toppings). Then I put on sauce, cheese, a little bit of pepperoni and lots of veggies and baked at 435. The yummiest pizza ever! This will be my standard pizza dough recipe from now on.**** Have made this countless times since first reviewing it, and it gets better and better! Tonight I divided the dough into 4 smaller pizzas, which was great. I was able to do different toppings on each one to please each member of the fam. On mine I put gorgonzola cheese and fresh tomatoes, it was soooo delicious! They baked up really nice too. I think I will do it this way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Very good recipe. Some suggestions: Use a pizza stone and bake at a higher temperature (500 or higher if you have a good oven). Also you can use all whole wheat flour, but you onlyl need about 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I use all whole wheat flour with 3 tbs of gluten and it is wonderful. Bake slightly before adding toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Awesome! Made two thin crusts out of this, with the amazing pizza sauce on top. Followed other cooks' suggestion of pre-baking crust at 500 for 10 min or so, then baked with toppings at 425 for about 7 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 733) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States