Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
As far as pizza crusts go, this one is pretty good. However, as far as wheat pizza crusts go, this is the best I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamie Andrews

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was the best whole wheat crust I've ever made! I read a lot of the other reviews and made a few changes from others' suggestions and one of my own: I used 100% whole wheat flour that I ground from whole soft white wheat, added 2 Tbs of gluten and 1 Tbs dough enhancer, added about 2 Tbs of italian seasoning and an extra tsp of salt. I made it in my bread machine on the dough setting and it rose beautifully in there. I rolled mozzarella cheese into the edge of the crust to make it stuffed-crust, topped it, and baked it on my preheated pizza stone. It turned out delicious! Though it was a little too salty with all the other toppings so next time I won't an extra tsp of salt. But great texture and flavor! Soft and chewy on the inside, crisp on the outside just like it claims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Yeast requires the nutrients found in sugar to properly form. Therefore, using a sugar subsitute will not work. "@sblackwood1 I was not pleased with this crust. I followed the recipe to the letter except I substituted a teaspoon of Stevia for the sugar. :("
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I wish I'd never tried this recipe. It is way, way better than the 20-minute crust I used to make (which I'd actually quite liked until I tried this). Unfortunately, I usually only have 20 minutes to make crust. I may have to make pizza a Sunday night thing so I can continue to make and devour this truly amazing pizza crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I was not pleased with this crust. I followed the recipe to the letter except I substituted a teaspoon of Stevia for the sugar. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
YUMMY! I have never made pizza dough from scratch before, but have tried several times to make bread, but it has never turned out right. I was skeptical about attempting this..... It was SUPER easy and tasted terrific! I used my Kitchenaid to mix the ingredients and "knead" the dough and followed the recipe exactly. The dough came out PERFECTLY! I don't have a pizza pan so I used a Pampered Chef 9" shallow round stone pan. I rolled the dough out to fit the bottom only of the pan, then added my toppings. I made BBQ chicken pizza. My whole family loved it!! I will be making pizza from scratch from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I didn't reeeeally like this too much, mostly because it kind of lacked in taste... It might taste better if you spread it out thinner in the pan and drizzle extra olive oil in the pan before putting the crust in the pan. But it did get the job done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I loved this healthy pizza crust, it turned out very thin and crunchy. I halved the recipe since I wanted to have 1 medium pizza. I also added 1/4 cup of wheat bran to the dough and took out 1/4 cup of all purpose flour. So my flour proportions were: Whole Wheat - 1 cup, All purpose - 1/2 cup, Wheat bran- 1/4 cup. The dough was so soft to work with, that I just pressed it with my fingers until it was as big as my pizza stone. Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I've made this several times. Use 3 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour instead of using the white flour. Baked the crust for 5 minutes untopped before topping followed by baking the last 15 minutes. I turned my oven on and let the dough in the ball proof in the pan for about 20 minutes instead of letting it sit for the hour. Worked fine. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This recipe turned out perfect. I used only whole wheat flour, and devided the dough into 8 personal size pizza's and they were about the size of a small pita bread. I baked the dough for about 6-8 minutes, and then used them all week for my lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States