Alyson's Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
Fabulous -- and this from a long-standing broccoli hater! :) Instead of raisins, please use halved seedless red grapes. Have tried both and the grapes are so much better (to us, at least)...in fact, I always add extra. I recommend making this the night before in order for the flavors to meld. You may want to add half the bacon when you make the salad and the rest just before serving so that the salad picks up the bacon flavor but you still get a bit of crunch from the other half of bacon. I use Splenda for the dressing and you can't tell the difference. We did not care for the sunflower seeds. Thanks for the delicious recipe! *UPDATE* Feb 2008 -- Wanted to pass along that I tried using FROZEN baby broccoli florets. Worked great! Bring a pot of water to boil and drop the florets in. Remove as soon as water returns to a boil so the broccoli doesn't lose its crispy texture, then immediately submerge in ice water. Simply just thawing or microwaving for a short time might work even better if you want to retain more crunch. I prefer a little less crunch while hubby likes it very crunchy...I try to find a happy medium. :) If you catch the frozen pkgs when they're buy one get one, could save a little money as well...fresh broccoli can be very expensive. Just be sure to use a quality brand if you try frozen. I used two 1 lb pkgs and made 2x times the dressing (also used extra grapes, onion and bacon). We LOVE this recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
642 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
What defines taste for this recipe? What can you substitute for what? 1. Keep red onion. Do not substitute it. 2. Keep bacon. You can use more bacon then requested, still be fine. 3. Raisins. I like Jumbo White raisins. Please do not use those little brown once. You need sweet-sour taste. So as previous reviewers said: you can use red grapes, halved; you can use craizins. Sweet-n-Sour! 4. Sunflower seeds or roasted almonds - doesn't matter. They both taste good in this salad. Add them before serving, so they retain cranchinnes. 5. And dressing. For dressing you can substitute Real Mayo for Light or for extra Light or for Sour Cream+Mustard+LemonJuice+Salt. Really does not make any difference. You can substitute sugar for Splenda. You can use Red Wine Vinegar. The taste should be sweet-salty and a little sour. What important is the amount. If you use too little - it'll be too dry. If you use to much - it'll be soup. Add the dressing gradually. Remember that after a night in refrigirator it is going to absorb some fluid. Now - if you do substitutions for Mayo, make sure this thing has salt in it, because if not and you use raisins... they will become grapes again :-), and sometime quite huge grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
476 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I have been making this for years, using slightly different amounts of the ingredients. (4 cups broccoli, 1 cup raisins, 1 cup sunflower seeds, 1/2 cup sweet red onion & 8 slices bacon for the salad. For the dressing: 1 cup mayo, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 T. vinegar) My suggestion to those who say the broccoli is too "crunchy": I always mix up all of the salad ingredients the night before I serve this. The bacon "softens" the broccoli. I mix up the dressing ingredients separately, in another bowl, and add a couple of hours before serving to let the flavors blend. And I suggest using "real bacon", but I know we're all busy people. Always delicious...have had so many requests for this salad people pay me to make it for graduations, weddings, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This is a good recipe, but I don't think everyone made it right. A few reviewers mentioned the bacon and the sunflower seeds getting soft. The recipe states to put them in right before serving. This leaves them nice and crunchy and gives the salad a nice balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
You have to use red grapes instead of raisins. Cut the grapes in half and add to the salad. My mom has been serving this recipe in her tea house for years and always get tons of requests for it. Everywhere I bring it to I have to hand out the recipe. Please use fresh grapes though it makes all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This is a great recipe. I have had this salad from a deli before, but it always lacked something. I made this for visiting relatives and they asked me to make it again the next day. I used red wine vinegar, instead of white wine vinegar. And, since we are watching our sugar intake, I used Splenda instead of the sugar. No one knew the difference. Even my brother- who can smell an artificial sweetener from a mile away- had no idea. It definitely needs to sit overnight for all the flavors to meld. Great recipe- I am glad to have it! (Edited 5/22/2010)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
This stuff is awesome. I didn't like raw broccoli before now, but now this is my favorite vegetable dish. I made it with red seedless grapes, cut in half, instead of raisins (in the amount of 2X the raisins that the recipe calls for). I also used prepared bacon crumbles, the kind that come in a plastic pouch, intended as a salad topping; and low-fat mayonnaise. Be sure to use white wine vinegar--I think it makes a big difference. I think you could add just about any fruit, or maybe some white chicken chunks for a complete meal. I'm going to try it with chicken and diced apple next time. Make this; I think you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I have now made this twice and both times it was great! I made some for me at home the first time( I am 5 months pregnant and get cravings!), the second was for a potluck at work. Everyone loved it! I do recommend making the dressing 24 hours in advance and letting it all meld together, this definetly makes for a wonderful flavor. Also, letting everything (besides the seeds and bacon) refrigerate for a few hours once you DO stir in the dressing really lets the dressing soak into the broccoli. I just add the bacon and sunflower seeds right before serving and then mix it all up. This is definetly one of my favorite recipes from this site and I don't even like raw broccoli!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I make this all the time for my friends and always go home with an empty bowl. I would say that three small heads would equal a large head of broccoli...now that I'm typing this I'm realizing that's not very helpful is it? This is what I do: I chop the broccoli and then add the mayonnaise sauce, telling myself I probably won't use it all. I personally like to use the leftover sauce on a sandwich (have to eat it right away though since the sauce is a bit runny and will soak through the bread). Also, about cutting the broccoli, are you cutting it into florets (the little individual heads) or chopping it fine? You just need to chop the little heads off and is pretty quick. For big florets you can chop them in half to make them bite sized. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
My kids devour this salad! I used "craisins" instead of raisins.. they are a great alternative. I also added a dash of garlic powder to the dressing. Oh yah.. I don't think you need quite a cup of mayo (although I am not a huge mayo fan.. it is much better in this recipe than miracle whip..) I only use about a half cup and then add milk to thin it. I used balsamic vinegar because it's all I had. I hardly ever have left-overs when I make this.. and we have it at least once a week. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,054) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States