Alyson's Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Good recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I used this as a starting point because the recipe does not start with a huge quantity of sugar (some recipes call for 1/2 to a full cup of sugar). I reduced the bacon, mayo and sunflower seeds by 50% to significantly reduce the number of calories and left the sugar out altogether. This takes the calories per serving down almost 250 each. And the salad still tastes great with sweetness from the raisins. There are plenty of sunflower seeds per serving--I definitely would not use a full cup. You can taste enough bacon and the dressing is still creamy but the salad isn't swimming in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I loved this when I first tried it at a pitch-in and was ecstatic when I found the recipe here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe is delicious with adjustment to the dressing, there is way to much dressing made, the great part is you make the dressing separate and add it in, I recommend just adding enough to coat the salad allotting that you will also add bacon and sunflower seeds after chilling. My family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this for the first time for a large family function. I doubled up on all ingredients, as a lot of people attended. Everyone loved it, and there was not even one floret left over. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Have had this and made it for many a party. Its always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara's Recipes
Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is a fabulous salad! Definitely use the red seedless grapes instead of raisins. I didn't have white wine vinegar so I used rice vinegar and it's great! Also used lowfat mayo with no issues. The whole family loves it, always requested for get-togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Delicious! Modified: omit raisins, half sugar, add half head of broccoli, replaced white wine with apple cider vinegar, used mayo with olive oil (green bottle, not blue), and precooked bacon. Done in ten minutes. A great recipe to use when craving broccoli and salad in one. I did find that the original recipe doesn't make broccoli the main ingredient. In fact, it's battling with sunflower kernels. When I stirred the ingredients together with original measurements, it looked like more clumps of unnecessary sunflower kernels. Adding that extra half head of broccoli really made the difference. Didn't want to call it Sunflower Salad. That's just wrong. Amazing dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadBaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe! A friend of mine made it for a get together and I had to have the recipe afterward. I love it! I definitely add more onion than called for, because I love red onion, and I definitely use halved red grapes instead of raisins. Everything else is spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,068) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States