All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this recipe tonight. Even my 9 year old who isn't a meat lover, enjoyed the roast beef. I thought it was very easy to make, and came out delicious, tender and juicy. I hand rubbed the seasoning onto the meat as well as roasted the meat on top of sliced onion. I will certainly make this again. I was thrilled, as I'm not the best cook and have tried roasts before to little success. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
roast was delish with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Vezina Hamlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a very simple and good recipe. GRRRR. For those who say you must cook moist, or that this is dry, then I feel sorry that you have never experienced real roast beef. Ladies and gentlemen, there are (at a minimum) two distinctly different ways of cooking a beef roast and (surprise!) they come out differently and are used for different purposes. First, "Roast Beef" (this recipe) and second "Pot Roast." If your mother did not make the distinction clear, or did not know herself, I will clarify. --------- Roast beef is cooked dry. This is what you are served at the buffet where the chef cuts thin slices for you, plates, and ladles on some juice. This is what you need to make Roast Beef Manhattan. This is what you need for a French Dip. This, (with more seasonings and a few post-roasting steps) is the start of "Italian Beef 'sangwich'." ---------- OTOH, Pot roast is cooked moist, in a pot. The pot may be in the oven, on the stove, or a slow cooker. Vegetables, typically carrots and potatoes, frequently some onion, are cooked in water, broth, or tomato sauce. This produces a "one pot meal" and is often passed on a platter. Each diner takes vegetables and a chunk of coarsely cut meat. The moist heat causes the meat to be very tender (yet because of large cut may be fibrous), pieces may be pulled off with the fork and a knife is often not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Delicious! It was my first attempt at making roast beef at home. This came out as a perfect medium rare roast with the most delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this yesterday for a belated Thanksgiving dinner with my family and everybody raved. I used the same seasonings listed and added a little bit of thyme and Worcestershire sauce and let the roast marinate for about 1 hour before putting it in the oven. I also added about 1 inch of water, Worcestershire sauce, garlic and 1 onion (quartered) to the roasting pan. I would agree with previous posters and say that having a good digital meat thermometer is helpful so you can know when it's reached your desired level of cooking. My family prefers a well done roast and it was still very moist and juicy. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is the best roast beef, I have ever made! It was moist and flavorful. I did use suggestion from the other viewer like cook the roast on a bed of onions and cut slit in meat and place garlic cloves inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I've been making it for two years and my Husband loves it! i have tried it with different cuts of beef with some really great and some not so much even though this cut doesn't create a lot of juices i still found it tender and perfectly cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milomere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is wonderful and correct way to prepare a beef roast. For everyone who says to add liquid and this isn't the way to cook a roast...I think you need to understand cooking terminology. A pot roast is a tough cut of meat that needs to be browned and then braised in liquid covered and slow cooked. A beef roast is a tender cut of meat that you cook dry in the oven uncovered at a higher heat for a shorter period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Good basic, no frills recipe. I found myself going back and snacking on the leftovers after everyone had gone to bed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Quite delicious! The only thing I did differently was to sear the meat before roasting. I heated oil in a deep pan and let the meat sit for a few minutes until it was completely sealed. Made for a tender and delicious roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States