All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very good. I added 1/3 C soy sauce and 1/3 C worcestershire sauce and water and cooked it in the crock pot for 5 hours. Next time I will get it out in 4 hours. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
It was very good and very easy. I added a lot more spices and a jar of onion gravy. Covering it after it was taken out of the oven is really important. Don't skip this step :-). My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
it was okay. I probably wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a good quick way to make this roast. And just a note. 20 min. per pound is for medium rare. If you like your meat well, it would be 25 min. per pound. The one thing I don't like about this cooking method is that it creates a hard, dry crust on the outside of the meat. I like braising eye round in a dutch oven or baking it at 300 degrees in a little liquid for 30 min. per pound, which creates a more 'falling off the bone' texture. Eye round has no fat, so there are no drippings to baste the roast with while cooking, so having some sort of liquid in the pan while baking creates a moister roast. This 'dry roasting' method is quick, but results are fair and the meat isn't as tender. We made this for French dip sandwiches. I did let the meat sit out at room temp. for 3 hrs. before I baked it to ensure more even cooking. Makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
awesome recipe, and so simple and easy! i made this as the first recipe i've ever tried with some mashed potatoes and gravy with sauteed mushrooms and it was absolutely to die for! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrsicle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was my first attempt at a roast beef dinner and it was simply fantastic! The only alteration I made was adding a can of beef broth to the roasting pan. The roast turned out so tender and it had a fantastic flavour. I'm not a successful gravy maker so I used the packets and added some of the drippings from the roast. Thank you for an extremely simple and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Unbelievable how something so simple can be so delicious every single time I make it. I always make sure I pick out the biggest roast (at least 3 lbs) so we can use the leftovers for french dip. And the eye round is so inexpensive, you can't go wrong! I'll never by an expensive beef roast again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
After 90 minutes @ 375, my 2.8 pound roast has an internal temperature of 120 degrees F. Oven and temperature probe are both calibrated and accurate. Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Such a simple recipe, yet tastes wonderful! Perfect roast everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Thanks for submitting such a great recipe! My roast came out PERFECT thanks to your advice about cooking at 375 degrees. I had a tendency to overcook roasts, but not anymore! Even the cheapest cut of beef comes out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States