All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was a very good, very simple recipe. Note, however, if you are making a smaller roast, a meat thermometer is critical. I did the recommended time of 20 minutes per pound, and my (1.75) roast did not even register on the thermometer. It took about 45 minutes, plus the 15 minutes resting to be the perfect rare (but not raw). Overall, simple, but very juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Angus is definitely the best cut; however, regardless of the cut I ALWAYS age my own beef. Put on a rack, gently cover with waxed paper, and let rest in the refrigerator for 6-8 days. Then I run in lots of Kosher Salt and black pepper. I roast at about 200 degrees for several hours -- even a nice rib cut. Experiment, and you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
just made this 2 days ago.followed TRACYCOOK`S. advice and brought to room temp(temp of roast was 56 on my polder digital when probe was inserted) removed roast at 120 covered with foil tent for 20 min. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaypo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Tried it as is -- turned out great. Kept an eye on the thermometer --we like it rare, so we did about 45 minutes. Didn't need to add any water to the pan -- it came out nice and juicy -- we made a gravy from the drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This Roast came out perfect. I used Angus eye of round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
FOR dryness issues try adding 1cup of beef broth to the pan prior to cooking ..i do a variation on this where i sear all sides and cover with foil for entire cook time and use 1 cup beef broth and i never have problems with dry meat resting is key though you must let it rest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was fantastic. I follow the recipe added no water but was nervous because I have never done that. Paid off however it did take a little longer, I think 15-20 more minutes. THANKS for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Wallace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Spencerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Followed as written as that is the way to review a recipe. I hate when people change everything and review what is then a whole different recipe. My roast turned out very good. It was not overdone (med-rare) and very juicy. TY poster :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Riker
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
To those who want to add liquid to this recipe, you are not cooking a pot roast here. This is a rare to medium rare roast. Not only can you use the Eye of the round roast, but a Sirloin tip roast works well too. You can also do a standing rib roast in a similar manner. This is the type of roast to cook and slice up for sandwiches, or as listed with mashed potatoes and gravy. This is a great basic recipe. For a pot roast it will take a totally different cut and cook at lower temperatures with liquid for 4-5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
this roast turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Komet Being

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States