All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is the best ROAST BEEF you will ever eat, if you want POT ROAST make a POT ROAST, but please don't rate this fine recipe poorly because it isn't a recipe for something other than ROAST BEEF. That said, I bought a slightly larger than 3 pound roast, seasoned it and cooked it according to directions, yes this does make a rare roast beef, if that isn't your thing add 5 minutes per pound to the timing. I did add thinly sliced onions to the pan and on top of the roast prior to putting it in the oven just as a personal preference. Be sure to slice as thin as possible and serve with a light gravy, mashed potatoes and a vegetable of your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is it. Your basic, simple, fool-proof Sunday roast. I think the bad reviews are from people who were expecting POT roast instead of a rosy, thinly-sliced, roast beef. Although the directions are simplistic, they are important. The cut matters, the time matters, the temp matters, the resting matters. Too much beef for you? No problem because it's excellent the day after for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My first time cooking a Roast beef and my hubby and me loved it. I just followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My roast was 2 1/2 lbs so I wasn't sure if this would turn out but I followed the directions exactly and got a perfectly cooked medium rare roast after cooking for 50 minutes. And the gravy I was able to make from the wonderful meat juices was so very good, I didn't want to stop eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe as described. It was delicious and my entire family raved on the roast and was upset we didn't have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I'm not a great meat-maker and I had high hopes for this roast. Used the eye of round roast and all seasonings but found the meat to be a bit tough. Good flavor and used remainder for beef sandwiches, but not as tender as I had hoped. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
We followed instructions to the T except that we changed the cooking time to 22 minutes per pound because we prefer our beef medium/well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delish. I used minced garlic. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was my first oven roast. I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out perfect. In fact I really didn't need the brown gravy. Thanks for the help with my Christmas Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States