All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Vicki8692
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Very easy recipe. I did not tie roast and it came out fine. I did sear the exterior first and then cooked at 325. Meat was very juicy. Key to be generous with seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This recipe is great for this size eye round. Comes out rare in the middle with a 1 inch band of done on the outside. Delicious cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosesonata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I used a probe meat thermometer with an alarm and set it for 145 degrees. Next time I will set it for 130 degrees because the meat went from medium rare to medium while resting. I added dried thyme to the rub and it was very tasty. I added water to the pan drippings and poured them into the remaining sliced beef. I think I'll make beef pot pies with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this yesterday and it came out fantastic. However, the 20 min/LB @375 was incorrect for me and would have probably been terrible. I had an 8 Lb eye roast and it was well done at 2 hours when I checked it. I probably could have pulled it out at an hour and 40 minutes or so. So like the others say, use a meat thermometer and don't go with the time alotted. Great Roast though and I will make it many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This is fantastic. I have never cooked a jucier roast. Despite some reviews I had read, I followed the directions exactly. Ending with a 15 minute tent is what is key. So very lovely. Glad I know how to cook a roast properly now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzphit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Tried this last night with great success. I read a review mentioning adding water to the bottom of the roasting pan, which I did, but I think that was unnecessary. The roast was plenty juicy on its own. I may add a bit more garlic powder next time just because I loved the garlic flavoring. I can't wait to make a sandwich with the leftovers! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryef27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Great recipe! So easy! Just make sure to read other reviews here and use a meat thermometer! Do not rely on timing, particularly if you want a medium-rare roast! I have made this twice now, and I find that for medium-rare I need to take the roast out when the centermost part of the roast reaches 120. Make sure you really are measuring at dead center where it is the coolest. You may need to try in several locations in the roast. I check the temperature every 10 minutes after I reached the halfway point. Then I let it sit for 15 minutes before slicing. Slicing very thin is key - particularly if you use a cheap cut of meat. Tastes great with a prepared package of Knorr brown gravy if you are looking for a shortcut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
If I could I'd give this a few more stars I would!! This is REALLY good. We all loved it especially my husband he raved about it. I think this is the best roast I have ever cooked and I am 54 yrs old. I used a bottom of the round because that's what I had in the freezer. I did follow the recipe to a tee. It was wonderful. I will be using this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I followed someone's advice-took out meat when internal temp 120F, then covered with aluminum foile. sliced thin with slicing machine when cooled. perfectly cooked, just as we like, pink and rare inside!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kunimi Togashi Ehresmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States