al fresco Roasted Pepper and Asiago Chicken Sausage Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This was okay. The family ate it but wouldn't care to have it again. Neither the husband or daughter cared for the texture of the chicken sausage. I don't eat eggs so I can't give a personal opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
While this is a very simple ad quick recipe to make, my family really does not like this sausage. I have tried this product several times but its just not for us. If I was to make this recipe again I would use a sausage my family does enjoy in place of the Al Fresco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was excellent! I couldn't find the Roasted Red Pepper and Asiago sausage, so I used the Sundried Tomato flavor. I also had to substitute dried parsley (approximately 2 teaspoons) for the fresh flat-leaf parsley. My entire family loved this and we all wished there had been enough for seconds. I did only use two links of the sausage and I think any more would have been too much. We'll definitely have this again in the very near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CindyLepp
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Quick breakfast for a Sunday morning! I used Sweet Italian Al Fresco sausage and followed the recipe exactly. Everyone really enjoyed it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
We love Frittatas and this one was good. Though I made so many changes to appeal to my husband that it might be a new recipe. I nicknamed it Kicked up al fresco Roasted Pepper and Asiago Chicken Sausage Frittata. I also needed to use up some fresh veggies and potatoes. So I made some hashbrowns, then I roasted a few fresh hatch chili's and a jalapeno and I sauteed theses with some mushrooms and a bit of onion and garlic. I used the hashbrowns as a crust then layered sausage, mushrooms, chili's, peppers and onions, then I poured egg mixture over the layers. I put shredded gouda and parmesan chees on top. Once bottom was set on the stove. I put it under the broiler and set the top and browned the cheese a bit. This was excellent! Will make this again. I am posting my kicked up version. Check it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My store didn’t carry roasted pepper & Asiago chicken sausage, so I used sweet Italian chicken sausage. I wasn’t sure if my pan was oven-proof, so after I browned the sausage, I put the mixture into a 10-inch Pyrex pie pan, poured the egg mixture over the top, and sprinkled with a little shredded Asiago cheese. I baked it in the oven for 10 minutes. The only change I would make would be to add a couple more eggs and bake in a 9-inch pie pan. This is a very quick and easy recipe that doesn’t require a lot of time or ingredients. It came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsWolfie
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This was just OK.... we all ate every bite but in order to make it again, I'd have to do some things to it. The sausage is good- don't let the initial smell of it throw you off when you open it. Asiago and roasted pepper are strong tastes and they mellow out once the dish is cooked. The main problem I had was there was not enough egg- we have tiny chickens here so I used 6 to equal the four the recipe called for and I could see immediately it was not going to be enough. Secondly.. this needs some sort of cheese other then Parm. Since it was like a breakfast type dish (though we had it for dinner), I found myself wanting it cheesier and cheese would add additional flavor. The peppers seemed to be a bit of overkill since it was also in the sausage. I used homemade and I don't think I would use them again. Whatever you do, don't leave out the parsley. You can't see it in my photo but it really does add that extra fresh taste this dish delivers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe although I didn't use al fresco sausage since it's not available in my area. I diced chipotle sausage in another brand which worked very well with the red peppers and hot sauce. I used only 3 sausages but should have used only 2 since the egg to sausage ratio seems off a bit. Easily fixable though. Delicious and filling recipe! No salt is called for and none is needed. I also used only 1 tsp. olive oil. I served this with grits and a fruit cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
5 stars for flavor, delicious! 3 stars for lack of balance. Using all four of the sausages in the 12 oz. package with only four eggs would result in a sausage pie with a wee bit of egg. I used three sausages and 7 eggs and it came out perfect, a nice frittata with more than enough meat. Otherwise I made no changes. Served this for a quick supper with fresh lemon butter asparagus. We all enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by tcsangel
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This dish was great! I needed a quick dinner on a busy night and this was just the thing. Easy to make and delicious! My kids begged for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States