Afghan Beef Raviolis (Mantwo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I was confident in trying a new recipe. This looks yummy I thought. Well, I made it with some friends. More and more people kept coming (for dinner) and I began to think this looks weird. I told everyon what it was and they could try what they wanted. We found that if you eat all the layers together like the recipe it's so yummy. The Mantwo vanished. Our neighbor girl, who is a picky eater asked if she could bring a plate home for her brother ... But it was gone. We were able to prepare the meal much quick then the recipe said. We found stuffing the Raviolis to be the most difficult part in preparation.We found that they stuck togather in our steamer once stuffed. We found out doing less at a time and spraying oil on them made it work much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I love, love, love this recipe--it's my new favorite. I'd printed it out weeks ago, and talked about making it--but my husband surprised me with the meal on Valentine's Day. He made it with lamb instead of beef, which I think made it even better. He also made the pasta dough for the ravioli. It's such a gorgeous dish, with its layers of different flavors and textures. I want one of us to make it again soon (and take a picture this time!). I guess it probably would serve four, if you're not ravenous (or if you have a starter and a salad). But when I make a labor-intensive recipe like this, I want it to last--so next time I'll double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Loved this recipe! It was very similar to an Afghan place we like in Baltimore! It took just over an hour to prepare (boiled the raviolis for about 4 minutes). I felt that it could have used more salt/cumin/coriander, but I like really flavorful foods! Like others, I couldn't find yellow split peas and used green instead. Made 16 ravioli and two of us could only eat 4 per serving, so had leftovers for the next night too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I thought that this was really good, and my husband agreed. It was easy, alot of ingredients, but not alot of prep work. I used green split peas and dried mint, and I boiled the ravioli for about 4 minutes instead of steaming (a time consideration). I used very lean ground beef, and it felt like a light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I just made this recipe this evening and my husband raved about it. It was an interesting recipe to make (lots of fun) and very flavorful. We're partial to Middle Eastern food and this was an excellent dish. I made the recipe exactly as specified with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Love the tastes, textures and colours. I, too, boiled the raviolis for 4 minutes, steaming 2 for comparison, and as long as you drain them well it's fine. Next time will try lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I really liked this dish. It was quite different. It only took me about 50 minutes to make everything: I started the split peas while the beef was browning, I took out about a cup of the browned beef for the dumplings and started the meat sauce before I filled the dumplings,I cooked the dumplings in simmering water for about a minute per batch. I served it with roasted vegetables: eggplant, peppers, and tomatoes tossed with chopped garlic and olive oil. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Yummy! I was skeptical of how the textures would work together, but they melded together wonderfully. It was a bit of work, but not as much as I thought it would be. Stuffing the dumplings took the longest - everything else just had to simmer for a while. I omitted the carrot, mint and garlic because I didn't have any. I also boiled the dumplings for 2-3 min instead of steaming them, and they turned out fine. My split peas never ended up as a "slurry," maybe because I used green instead of yellow? I didn't think it would make a difference, so I just bought what was available at the store. If you make it 4 servings, it's definitely a little lighter than most Americans are used to. I had two servings and nothing else and was stuffed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is delicious. The only change I made was to use ground lamb instead of beef. Hubby and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States