Afghan Beef Raviolis (Mantwo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I really liked this dish. It was quite different. It only took me about 50 minutes to make everything: I started the split peas while the beef was browning, I took out about a cup of the browned beef for the dumplings and started the meat sauce before I filled the dumplings,I cooked the dumplings in simmering water for about a minute per batch. I served it with roasted vegetables: eggplant, peppers, and tomatoes tossed with chopped garlic and olive oil. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Not nearly as difficult to make as I first thought when I looked at the recipe. The most difficult part was trying to make the 'raviolis' look pretty! Interesting and different flavour and texture that me and hubby decided we rather enjoyed. You must like garlic and not be a "meat and 3 veg" person to enjoy this, though. While it will not go into rotation, this is a meal I will make again for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I thought that this was really good, and my husband agreed. It was easy, alot of ingredients, but not alot of prep work. I used green split peas and dried mint, and I boiled the ravioli for about 4 minutes instead of steaming (a time consideration). I used very lean ground beef, and it felt like a light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I love, love, love this recipe--it's my new favorite. I'd printed it out weeks ago, and talked about making it--but my husband surprised me with the meal on Valentine's Day. He made it with lamb instead of beef, which I think made it even better. He also made the pasta dough for the ravioli. It's such a gorgeous dish, with its layers of different flavors and textures. I want one of us to make it again soon (and take a picture this time!). I guess it probably would serve four, if you're not ravenous (or if you have a starter and a salad). But when I make a labor-intensive recipe like this, I want it to last--so next time I'll double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Great taste! Wonderful presentation! I folded the wonton wrappers in half over the meat mixture, then baked at 350 for a few minutes (too long in my case, as they started to turn brown!). I used green split peas since the yellow ones weren't available. All of the tastes complimented each other. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Restaurant quality! An excellent dish that was a LOT of fun to make. I added finely chopped red peppers and green onions to the beef mixture for color and because I had them. I also had to use green peas instead of yellow based on what was available. I steamed the raviolis and also had some trouble with them sticking together. I might try brushing them with olive oil next time. I highly recommend this dish. If I could give it 6 stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Loved this recipe! It was very similar to an Afghan place we like in Baltimore! It took just over an hour to prepare (boiled the raviolis for about 4 minutes). I felt that it could have used more salt/cumin/coriander, but I like really flavorful foods! Like others, I couldn't find yellow split peas and used green instead. Made 16 ravioli and two of us could only eat 4 per serving, so had leftovers for the next night too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Love the tastes, textures and colours. I, too, boiled the raviolis for 4 minutes, steaming 2 for comparison, and as long as you drain them well it's fine. Next time will try lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I just made this recipe this evening and my husband raved about it. It was an interesting recipe to make (lots of fun) and very flavorful. We're partial to Middle Eastern food and this was an excellent dish. I made the recipe exactly as specified with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Very flavorful-I enjoyed making this recipe. Next time I will double the amount of yogurt sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States