Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Used black beans instead of kidney (only reason I gave it four stars). It made so much bean filling that I had to freeze some of it for later. Very tasty and a little different twist on burritos. The savory/sweet combo was what gave it its uniqueness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Prepared per directions. Would be great with some avocado or guacamole as well. Thinking of trying them as enchiladas too. Awesome vegetarian selection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
We loved these! We have recently began a vegan diet so we did not add the cheese or sour cream and they were delicious!!!!!! So tasty. I had some fresh cilantro I needed to use up so I added that and it was even more wonderful. Definitely going to make some more and freeze to take to work to reheat. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I've made this twice, and even though it requires a fair amount of prep work AND is a bit fussy, the end result is well worth it. You taste crunch and sweetness first and you're thinking, okay, that's different, then the spicy bean mixture hits and your mind is officially blown. Caveats that I would offer: 1) Choose the ginormous tortillas meant for burritos, not the smaller ones intended for soft tacos and fajitas. I never paid any attention to what's written on the different bags until this recipe. If you use the soft taco ones, adjust how much you fill them accordingly and -- bonus -- you'll make even more. 2) Eyeball how much water to add to the pan at the end; for me, over a cup was way too much and I ended up with a bean soup. 3) Watch the burrito assembly video tutorial or you'll end up with some funky-looking packages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This recipe was easy and fairly good, but seemed like it was lacking something. My husband said he'd like it better if I'd have added rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This recipe is actually really good. Somehow the combination of sweet potato and cheese and slightly spicy beans works. The burritos reheat surprisingly well, so I often make a batch and take one every day for lunch. If you use smaller tortillas, these burritos also make good snacks. Anyway, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I decided to give these burritos a whirl & froze some individually for future lunches/meals. I thought they were a nice vegetarian alternative to the traditional burrito, and were overall pretty good....but not so much addictive. I would recommend giving them a try, but would probably not make them again myself. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I'm not vegetarian but I made these for a vegetarian girlfriend who just had a baby - it's awesome because it A) makes so much B) is filling and good C) will be easy to heat after freezing D) lots of protein for a breastfeeding mom E) it's so easy for an exhausted new mom to eat when she has 30 seconds to spare. The recipe made a TON! I ran out of wheat tortillas (16 taco sized - there's enough for 18 I think) before I ran out of either filling (plan on mixing the extra beans with rice and using the sweet potatoes just as a side to a dinner). I froze them wrapped in paper towels, on a sheet tray then threw them (wrapped) into a Ziplock bag exactly as Toni mentioned. So so pleased with this recipe. UPDATE: I had so much of the bean mixture left over, I froze it for a rainy day. Just made a snack for the hubby who's always starved when he gets home from work - stuffed whole wheat pita halves with 2 spoonfuls of the bean mixture, then a sprinkle of cheddar cheese and froze them. He's so happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Surprisingly great , meal. It was easy to make and my husband and I enjoyed every bit of it. I was a little apprehensive on making this dish , but I am super glad I gave it a shot . Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States