Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I don't usually review recipes because I generally use them as an idea and then heavily modify. However, as a recently converted vegetarian I made this as is with only one small modification of using vegetarian refried black beans (whole foods) instead of pinto beans. I was worried because the ingredients didn't seem to "go together" in my mind, but based on reviews I gave it a try. LOVE IT!! I make a bunch and freeze some for later lunches. Even my meat eating husband likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These were delicious! I made three changes to the recipe based on other reviewers comments. I used 2/3 black beans and 1/3 kidney beans, I didn't add any water to the bean mixture and I used more cheese; some Mexican and some sharp cheddar. I added all other ingredients as outlined in the original recipe. They were very tasty and a huge hit with my husband and 13 year old daughter. They're already asking when I'll make them again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These are my husbands new favorite! I was skeptical at first, but I did what one of the other reviewers suggested & used black beans only & these were delicious! The spices were not overpowering at all & actually complimented the other ingredients nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe, despite its simplicity, is a lot of work. So it's not for the faint of heart! It's truly worth all the effort though for two reasons. 1 - it's delicious! and 2 - it makes enough to save for the week ahead. I'm not sure why anyone had trouble mashing the beans as you warm them; I didn't find it much of an effort. I did, however, add chicken to each burrito (some baked chicken tenders which were easy to shred). The result was excellent. I ran into a bit of trouble, though, because I was unable to portion out the sweet potatoes evenly, so the last burrito had a double portion of beans in it. I also had some leftover beans that I saved in a plastic bag that I will use as a side dish some other night. Karena - Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spinkster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was a very interesting recipe but very yummy. Adding the water seemed unnecessary and created the mix to be very liquid-like which was going to be impossible to use inside the burrito before it baked. We decided to make this enchilada style and fill the tortillas and then add the rest of the bean mix on top in a baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was way better than I thought it was going to be. I was looking for a vegetarian meal so I thought I would try it. It was so good! I will definitely make this again. It was so fast and easy. I used black beans instead of kidney beans as I read that in some of the reviews. Also probably added more cheese than called for but other than that I followed the recipe. Served it with a bit of sour cream and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I really liked this recipe though I did make numerous changes. The most important one is I used BUTTERNUT SQUASH instead of sweet potatoes!! I cooked and mashed it just like a sweet potato. I am on a diet that uses Points and with the squash I don't need to count those starchy vegetable points. I also substituted curry powder for the cumin, added 4 tsp. of taco seasoning, used honey mustard, and used high fiber no fat tortilla wraps. Also I used chicken broth in place of water and mashed my kidney beans ahead with a potato masher. I also cooked the filling all together, not separate, and simmered for 15 minutes. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Delicious, didn't miss the meat at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Almere, Flevoland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I thought this was delicious! My husband made this last night, and boy was it tasty. Such a simple, healthy, delicious meal. I would definitely recommend this dish. He bought extra sweet potato's, so we can have another night this week. And it was so filling too! Gave me lots of energy the next morning when I ran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I was looking for a healthy alternative and this was just darn good. I didn't have kidney beans so had to substitute Garbonzos and black beans. My family absolutely loved it! Place quartered sweet potatoes in the crock pot for 8 hours on low (4 hours on high) and they'll be done in time for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States