Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I decided to give these burritos a whirl & froze some individually for future lunches/meals. I thought they were a nice vegetarian alternative to the traditional burrito, and were overall pretty good....but not so much addictive. I would recommend giving them a try, but would probably not make them again myself. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I'm not vegetarian but I made these for a vegetarian girlfriend who just had a baby - it's awesome because it A) makes so much B) is filling and good C) will be easy to heat after freezing D) lots of protein for a breastfeeding mom E) it's so easy for an exhausted new mom to eat when she has 30 seconds to spare. The recipe made a TON! I ran out of wheat tortillas (16 taco sized - there's enough for 18 I think) before I ran out of either filling (plan on mixing the extra beans with rice and using the sweet potatoes just as a side to a dinner). I froze them wrapped in paper towels, on a sheet tray then threw them (wrapped) into a Ziplock bag exactly as Toni mentioned. So so pleased with this recipe. UPDATE: I had so much of the bean mixture left over, I froze it for a rainy day. Just made a snack for the hubby who's always starved when he gets home from work - stuffed whole wheat pita halves with 2 spoonfuls of the bean mixture, then a sprinkle of cheddar cheese and froze them. He's so happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Surprisingly great , meal. It was easy to make and my husband and I enjoyed every bit of it. I was a little apprehensive on making this dish , but I am super glad I gave it a shot . Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I don't usually review recipes because I generally use them as an idea and then heavily modify. However, as a recently converted vegetarian I made this as is with only one small modification of using vegetarian refried black beans (whole foods) instead of pinto beans. I was worried because the ingredients didn't seem to "go together" in my mind, but based on reviews I gave it a try. LOVE IT!! I make a bunch and freeze some for later lunches. Even my meat eating husband likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These were delicious! I made three changes to the recipe based on other reviewers comments. I used 2/3 black beans and 1/3 kidney beans, I didn't add any water to the bean mixture and I used more cheese; some Mexican and some sharp cheddar. I added all other ingredients as outlined in the original recipe. They were very tasty and a huge hit with my husband and 13 year old daughter. They're already asking when I'll make them again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These are my husbands new favorite! I was skeptical at first, but I did what one of the other reviewers suggested & used black beans only & these were delicious! The spices were not overpowering at all & actually complimented the other ingredients nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe, despite its simplicity, is a lot of work. So it's not for the faint of heart! It's truly worth all the effort though for two reasons. 1 - it's delicious! and 2 - it makes enough to save for the week ahead. I'm not sure why anyone had trouble mashing the beans as you warm them; I didn't find it much of an effort. I did, however, add chicken to each burrito (some baked chicken tenders which were easy to shred). The result was excellent. I ran into a bit of trouble, though, because I was unable to portion out the sweet potatoes evenly, so the last burrito had a double portion of beans in it. I also had some leftover beans that I saved in a plastic bag that I will use as a side dish some other night. Karena - Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spinkster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was a very interesting recipe but very yummy. Adding the water seemed unnecessary and created the mix to be very liquid-like which was going to be impossible to use inside the burrito before it baked. We decided to make this enchilada style and fill the tortillas and then add the rest of the bean mix on top in a baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was way better than I thought it was going to be. I was looking for a vegetarian meal so I thought I would try it. It was so good! I will definitely make this again. It was so fast and easy. I used black beans instead of kidney beans as I read that in some of the reviews. Also probably added more cheese than called for but other than that I followed the recipe. Served it with a bit of sour cream and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I really liked this recipe though I did make numerous changes. The most important one is I used BUTTERNUT SQUASH instead of sweet potatoes!! I cooked and mashed it just like a sweet potato. I am on a diet that uses Points and with the squash I don't need to count those starchy vegetable points. I also substituted curry powder for the cumin, added 4 tsp. of taco seasoning, used honey mustard, and used high fiber no fat tortilla wraps. Also I used chicken broth in place of water and mashed my kidney beans ahead with a potato masher. I also cooked the filling all together, not separate, and simmered for 15 minutes. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States