Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Best dressing recipe yet ! I make it by the Quart and keep it in the fridge so I have to let it warm up a bit before I use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I make this dressing about a quart at a time and keep it in a pickle jar. When my cruet runs dry, I refill. This dressing gets better with age. It takes about two months for the flavor to really go through all the changes I like, so the next time I make it I'll make a gallon and refill my pickle jar from the gallon. I made the recipe my own by adding a little honey to improve the emulsion. I also make a version with balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. It's very good, and very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Lord have mercy the vinegar in this dressing was overwhelming! I added more olive oil as one reviewer mentioned. I also tried adding some sugar to try and cut through the acidity…to no avail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I'm speechless. Literally. This dressing is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett Gransberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I substituted 1/4 to 1/3 red wine vinegar with balsamic vinegar. Added garli garni cause needs a little extra salt. Scaled down to 15 servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This was delicious as written. I truly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I reduced the recipe to six servings and use fresh crushed garlic and a little scraped onion juice versus the dried garbage. Like others have said, a bit tart because of the unusual proportioning of oil to vinegar. So alter them and add more oil! A little turbinato sugar or honey takes care of that, too. (Honey is also an emulsifier like mustard.) But the thing that made the dressing pop was when I stirred in a crushed anchovy filet (oil packed). OMG. Turn your nose at the thought, but it makes a world of difference in flavor---wonderful! Besides, as far as I'm concerned, a Greek salad without a few of them on top is just wrong. (Try adding honey [orange, buckwheat, or mesquite, never clover--—yech] to your balsamic based dressings as well and taste what the pros do to imitate aged balsamic vinegar at a fraction of the cost. You'll never go back.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Amazing! It's my go to recipe for company. I get so many complements. I have also added quinoa for something different. It's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is da bomb, if you want Greek salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Would give 5 stars if I didn't change it a little, First I scale it down to 12 servings and use about 1/2 cup lemon juice instead of vinegar, use it to your taste, we love lemons and put it on everything in our house. I also add a tsp. of sugar. Again add slowly to your taste if your going to try it. Leave out the oregano. Then of course you have to get some good crusty bread to dip in any left over dressing in your bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Fabulous Greek Dressing

This tangy dressing travels well since it doesn't need refrigeration.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States