Zwetschekuchen (German Plum Tart) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Couldn't find plums - used mixed berries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Divine. Had enough pastry and plums to make two pies - one as shown but in larger tin and one lattice topped in 9" pie dish. This is a fantastic pastry - I was worried the bottom would be soggy - it was anything but! Froze the lattice top pie and reheated before serving - still tasted as good as the one we ate fresh. Highly reccommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Dough was too thick/high; traditionally known as thinner base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Actually I have a question but can't find a place to ask. This is an awesome recipe and love love love it. But I was wondering what to leave out or increase to make the dough not rise quite as much? My mothers was not as fluffy and would like to make it more that way. Thanks in advance for any help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catnippy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
It is important to use ripe Plums! Otherwise it will taste sour, most People dont know how good Plums can taste because they are eating sour unripe Plums. Also for added sweetness its typical to make sugar crumbes to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Turner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is a terrific dessert! I remember having this type of pastry when I lived in Germany. I will definitely make this. This pastry is like comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
My german mother (and grandmother) always added a struesel topping for added goodness and then a dusting of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States