Zu's Fried Apple Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I did add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the pastry and loved this. Simple to do, nice for brown bag lunches. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Thanks for this recipe. My grandmother use to make these when we were kids and find it today on Christmas morning is so special. I believe this is just how she made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by o2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I wanted some apple pie but i didn't want a whole pie because it only my husband and i.I found this recipe for fried apple pies..After reading the recipe i said that this would better than a whole pie. My husband loved them and he is not a big sweet eater...I am. The reason i rated 4 stars is because i am not good at making pie crust.So i used the frozen crust i keep on hand and i added one tablespoon of butter to the apples while they cooking.And i fried in peanut oil and i use cinnamon sugar to put on after they out of oil They came out very very good. Thanks for the recipe. I know i will be making these again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is a good recipe, but it's even better with the following changes: 1) Add cinnamon to the pastry. 2) Don't mash the apples up into a sauce, but just slice them thinly, and it tastes more authentic. 3) to the apple mixture, add the following spices: nutmeg, cloves, and a little more cinnamon. I would highly suggest adding the spices TO YOUR OWN TASTE. I love spices, so I will add a lot more. 3) Instead of using shortening in your pastry, use softened butter. Make sure the butter is still cool from the refrigerator, but able to stir. (By the way, I would suggest doing that ANY time you're making crusts and pastries). I hope you enjoy this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Yummy little hand pies! I added a little cinnamon to the dough as others did, and I used apple pie spice (made from this site) instead of just cinnamon. As soon as I pulled them from the oil, I sprinkled them with turbinado sugar. They were certainly ready before an hour's time, making them a fast little treat when you want apple pie. I scaled the recipe down for my husband and I, which is nice because the 2 of us couldn't eat a whole baked apple pie. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Made these and they are so good. I also added cinnamon to my dough. I used can apple filling. Will make again and use fresh apples. Kate75
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
These turned out fantastic! I did half white sugar & half brown sugar, like other reviewers I also added cinnamon to the dough, and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar when they were finished. Quick and easy, with ingredients I always have on-hand! They were gone in minutes, and both my son & husband are asking when I'm going to make them again! Definitely a keeper!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Loved it, just made some and loved the crust and everything else about it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie9035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States