Zu's Fried Apple Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I did add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the pastry and loved this. Simple to do, nice for brown bag lunches. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Thanks for this recipe. My grandmother use to make these when we were kids and find it today on Christmas morning is so special. I believe this is just how she made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by o2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I wanted some apple pie but i didn't want a whole pie because it only my husband and i.I found this recipe for fried apple pies..After reading the recipe i said that this would better than a whole pie. My husband loved them and he is not a big sweet eater...I am. The reason i rated 4 stars is because i am not good at making pie crust.So i used the frozen crust i keep on hand and i added one tablespoon of butter to the apples while they cooking.And i fried in peanut oil and i use cinnamon sugar to put on after they out of oil They came out very very good. Thanks for the recipe. I know i will be making these again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is a good recipe, but it's even better with the following changes: 1) Add cinnamon to the pastry. 2) Don't mash the apples up into a sauce, but just slice them thinly, and it tastes more authentic. 3) to the apple mixture, add the following spices: nutmeg, cloves, and a little more cinnamon. I would highly suggest adding the spices TO YOUR OWN TASTE. I love spices, so I will add a lot more. 3) Instead of using shortening in your pastry, use softened butter. Make sure the butter is still cool from the refrigerator, but able to stir. (By the way, I would suggest doing that ANY time you're making crusts and pastries). I hope you enjoy this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Yummy little hand pies! I added a little cinnamon to the dough as others did, and I used apple pie spice (made from this site) instead of just cinnamon. As soon as I pulled them from the oil, I sprinkled them with turbinado sugar. They were certainly ready before an hour's time, making them a fast little treat when you want apple pie. I scaled the recipe down for my husband and I, which is nice because the 2 of us couldn't eat a whole baked apple pie. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Made these and they are so good. I also added cinnamon to my dough. I used can apple filling. Will make again and use fresh apples. Kate75
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
These turned out fantastic! I did half white sugar & half brown sugar, like other reviewers I also added cinnamon to the dough, and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar when they were finished. Quick and easy, with ingredients I always have on-hand! They were gone in minutes, and both my son & husband are asking when I'm going to make them again! Definitely a keeper!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Loved it, just made some and loved the crust and everything else about it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie9035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States