Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My family loved this recipe . I used bulk hot Italian sausage instead of the smoked sausage and substituted chicken broth for the water. The end result was spicy (not to much) but I think the next time I will use both hot and mild sausage. Everyone who tried it thought it tasted much better than the local chain restaurant. - Paulie G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very good copy of the Olive Garden favorite. I definietly would use more kale, or even substitue spinach if you don't want to use kale. I also used bulk italian sausage browned, which was much quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I added a little more water and cream to make this more soupy and cayenne and black pepper. It turned out really well and not salty at all. Also, I cooked Italian sausage on the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This soup has a wonderful taste, but it's way too much sausage for the broth. I would suggest only using 1/2 or less of the sausage, more water or cream, another potatoe, and more kale. Also, you could do without the bacon or cut that back to 3 strips. I will make it again, but will try to make it less fatening with less meat and more kale and potatoes. Also, I think I would like it better with ground italian turkey sausage. The casing on the smoked sausage was very tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
My family loves this soup; after having it at The Olive Garden years ago I was excited to find it and make it at home. I skipped the bacon this time trying to make it healthier and I'm thinking about trying turkey sausage next time.. Really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I love this recipe...so easy and quick to make. Husband and son like it well enough, but the daughters can't get enough of it! My youngest daughter askes me to make it for her on a regular basis. I made it for my eldest daughter when she had her baby,(kale is high in vitamin K which is good for post-partem moms)and she loved it. She now makes it every few weeks for her family. The best recipes are the ones that make you think of your Mommy or somebody else who cooked for you as a child. This has become one of those recipes at our house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Nogues Manners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
AMAZING recipe!!! Wow, so delicious. We used sodium FREE chicken bouillon and would have never known. It seriously did not effect the amazing taste and would highly recommend not consuming all that sodium if you cant even tell. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
My husband & I are soup-a-holics and loved this recipe. I get tired of my recipe for Italian Sausage. This is as easy to prepare and also has the rich flavor of a long cooked soup. So far I have made it 3 times in past 5 weeks. Only thing I did a little different was use red potatoes and left the skin on both for looks and added viamins. Also added more chicken stock and less salt filled boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hampstead, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Really Good!! Very impressed with how easy it is to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States