Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
i think the recipe was awesome just was missing something that why the 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, Maine, USA
Living In: Leeds, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
loved this. I used spicy Italian sausage, extra kale and added red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is my favorite soup at Olive Garden, so I was excited to try this recipe out! I made it for the first time today, with a few personal modifications. I used Italian turkey sausage and ground it up instead of slicing it, and I used red new potatoes because I had some already. I also left the bacon out because I didn't see the point in it. Overall I love it!! It was very similar, just needed some salt and pepper! My family approved of it and asked for more, which means something because they aren't typically soup eaters. Will definitely be adding this to my frequent dishes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was brilliant. I browned and drained the sausage before adding instead of baking, and halved the amount of bacon to reduce the salt. I also used less sausage, because it seemed like a lot for the recipe. Really good comfort food, keeps really, well, and was best with fresh kale. I also used baby gold potatos and kept the skin on, and seasoned the soup with a little black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
4 Stars as written. I only use 1/2 pound of sausage. Use hot Italian Chicken sausage, and remove the meat from the casing, browning it in large "crumbles". I use low-sodium chicken broth instead of the bouillon and water to cut down on sodium. If I have thick sliced bacon on hand, I only add 3 slices. It is best with heavy cream, but, I don't usually have it on and and use 1/2 & 1/2 (which I always have). It still tastes fantastic. Hubby says it's better than Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I was really disappointed in this recipe. Something is off and I can't figure out what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My family loved this recipe . I used bulk hot Italian sausage instead of the smoked sausage and substituted chicken broth for the water. The end result was spicy (not to much) but I think the next time I will use both hot and mild sausage. Everyone who tried it thought it tasted much better than the local chain restaurant. - Paulie G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very good copy of the Olive Garden favorite. I definietly would use more kale, or even substitue spinach if you don't want to use kale. I also used bulk italian sausage browned, which was much quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I added a little more water and cream to make this more soupy and cayenne and black pepper. It turned out really well and not salty at all. Also, I cooked Italian sausage on the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This soup has a wonderful taste, but it's way too much sausage for the broth. I would suggest only using 1/2 or less of the sausage, more water or cream, another potatoe, and more kale. Also, you could do without the bacon or cut that back to 3 strips. I will make it again, but will try to make it less fatening with less meat and more kale and potatoes. Also, I think I would like it better with ground italian turkey sausage. The casing on the smoked sausage was very tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Chef John’s Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States