Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Good soup and worth trying first following the recipe. When I made it a second time, I did make some changes. Instead of the packaged smoked sausage, I used a mild Italian Turkey sausage and removed it from the casing & browned. I also fried the bacon in the oven, let it cool and then crumbled it into the soup when the potatoes were almost finished cooking. I also believe I used spinach when I could not find kale that looked good. The last two editions were to make the soup creamier. So I increased the heavy cream to 1 c and also used a can of evaporated milk. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coug Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. Easy to make and so good. I am going to try spinach next time as the kale was not as tender as I would have like it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jecjr0726

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
i think the recipe was awesome just was missing something that why the 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Booboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, Maine, USA
Living In: Leeds, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
loved this. I used spicy Italian sausage, extra kale and added red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is my favorite soup at Olive Garden, so I was excited to try this recipe out! I made it for the first time today, with a few personal modifications. I used Italian turkey sausage and ground it up instead of slicing it, and I used red new potatoes because I had some already. I also left the bacon out because I didn't see the point in it. Overall I love it!! It was very similar, just needed some salt and pepper! My family approved of it and asked for more, which means something because they aren't typically soup eaters. Will definitely be adding this to my frequent dishes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was brilliant. I browned and drained the sausage before adding instead of baking, and halved the amount of bacon to reduce the salt. I also used less sausage, because it seemed like a lot for the recipe. Really good comfort food, keeps really, well, and was best with fresh kale. I also used baby gold potatos and kept the skin on, and seasoned the soup with a little black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
4 Stars as written. I only use 1/2 pound of sausage. Use hot Italian Chicken sausage, and remove the meat from the casing, browning it in large "crumbles". I use low-sodium chicken broth instead of the bouillon and water to cut down on sodium. If I have thick sliced bacon on hand, I only add 3 slices. It is best with heavy cream, but, I don't usually have it on and and use 1/2 & 1/2 (which I always have). It still tastes fantastic. Hubby says it's better than Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I was really disappointed in this recipe. Something is off and I can't figure out what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My family loved this recipe . I used bulk hot Italian sausage instead of the smoked sausage and substituted chicken broth for the water. The end result was spicy (not to much) but I think the next time I will use both hot and mild sausage. Everyone who tried it thought it tasted much better than the local chain restaurant. - Paulie G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very good copy of the Olive Garden favorite. I definietly would use more kale, or even substitue spinach if you don't want to use kale. I also used bulk italian sausage browned, which was much quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States