Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I got this recipe from the chef at Olive Garden the day my first G'son was born...have made it pretty much every month for the last 15 years. For those who are saying it's too salty...forget the bouillon and water, and use chicken broth instead. I do add more potatoes and brown the ground chicken sausage first. Rather than the heavy whipping cream the chef told me to add a quart of half and half instead. It's a wonderful filling soup, and so easy!!I make exactly the way the chef said and never tire of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Absolutely awesome! I added more kale and a tad more cream, making it 1/2 c instead of 1/3. And I used hot italian sausage instead of the smoked type. It is so chock full of protein and fiber! Very filling with loads of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I really love the flavor of this recipe. Very close to o@#!/gardens soup. Goes great with a crusty bread.had no problem serving just this for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melarizona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I have made this soup 4 times! I have it 3 stars because I did not think that smoked sausage was a good fit for this recipe. I replaced the smoked sausage with bulk Italian sausage and once with spicy Italian turkey sausage and they were both delicious !! I also added more kale and broth to mine. It taste so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
yes it was very good, except we are big soup eaters. I added a second quart of water and another bouillion cube, also, next time I would add more potatoes and such, to make it a bit heartier. We added extra spinach on top for those of us that love spinach because a cup for the whole pot was not enough for my husband and I. The soup had wonderful taste however, and everyone loved. I added a half teaspoon of garlic and herb seasoning and we used turkey bacon and regular italian turkey sausage not smoked so that was good too as a substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I have to say I took this recipe and ran with what I had and it was delicious. I used homemade sweet Italian sausage, browned in a skillet with sweet onion. I used a quart and a half of chicken broth, fresh mushrooms and golden potatoes. I brought it to a boil then reduced heat to low and let it simmer. About half an hour before dinner, I added chopped fresh baby spinach and canned milk. Served with garlic cheddar bassy biscuits. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Better than Olive Garden!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
First off- double it!! =yummy so you want leftovers!! I like to cook the sausage sans casing in a skillet, it releases more flavor into the soup I also try to do everything in one pot with the least mess, so this is how I prepare it: -Remove the sausage from the casing and chop up the bacon raw -Start at step 3, but cook the sausage with the bacon and onions -skip step 4 Viola! Turns out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this recipe a while ago and loved it. It seem to be close to the large restaurant chain's soup. I only changed one thing and that was the sausage because I now that bulk sausage was used in the original recipe. I used hot Italian soup and kept everything else the same and my family loved it. Thanks for the keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My husband's and my absolute favorite. I make this all the time! Perfect "date-night-in" soup. Wonderful served with a glass of wine and bread sticks. Molto Bene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emewells

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sesser, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States