Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
fantastic! we tweaked it a little to suit us (added red pepper flakes, used ground "hot" sausage, little extra bacon)but the recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Ulrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Love this recipe even more then the restaurants. I add some sage, thyme, and parsley. I also make extra broth and thicken with corn starch. This is my go to on cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monirunner
Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was great! I substituted ground beef for sausage, no bacon and added spinach for kale and 2% milk at the end after mashing a few potatoes. Served it with Parmesan cheese and garlic bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Inspired by this recipe. I changed the smoked sausage to Italian Mild, I replaced the Chicken Bouillon and water with Low Sodium Chicken Broth (about 42oz). I browned the Italian sausage in a dutch oven, removed them, drained the dutch oven, added some saved bacon grease, fried the onions for 3 minutes, and garlic for 60 seconds. I then added the broth and sausages. Brought it to a boil then added the potatoes. Let simmer for 45 minutes until the potatoes were done. Added the crumpled bacon, kale,and about 1/2 cup cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Neary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I love this soup, one of my favorites, have made it a few times. Cook time is longer than listed. Be careful not to cut potato too small as they will fall apart. Pre time includes cooking bacon. I prefer a spicy sausage instead of smoked, like andoille. I found recipe needed much more water and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Excellent. I added a few more potatoes, 1 cup water and 1T. Chicken bouillon, plus increased the heavy cream to 1cup. Mostly because I wanted a little more soup. This is amazing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I liked the Olive Garden version of this so gave it a try. I cut up and browned my sausage first, cheated and used packaged bacon bits (probably less than 6 slices' worth), and added more kale than actually called for, but it was GREAT! Even BETTER than OGs!Leftovers didn't last long enough! I'm thinking of making an extra-large batch next time and freezing some for easy lunches. Definite keeper, although I may try some of the other suggested tweaks later just for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Belle
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was absolutely amazing I loved it can't wait to do it again! My son & I did it together hes only 8 & enjoyed it so much! This is my fav soup at OG so to know that I can make this at home now means everything! Plus I had OG dressing to go with the salad so it was so on! Thank u whoever submitted this 1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I do add more potatoes and brown the ground chicken sausage first. Rather than the heavy whipping cream the chef told me to add a quart of half and half instead. It's a wonderful filling soup, and so easy!!I make exactly the way the chef said and never tire of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Absolutely awesome! I added more kale and a tad more cream, making it 1/2 c instead of 1/3. And I used hot italian sausage instead of the smoked type. It is so chock full of protein and fiber! Very filling with loads of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Chef John’s Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States