Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I tried this recipe because my husband loves Zuppa Toscana from Olive Garden. I used Chicken Broth instead of the water/bouillon. The only thing that was a bit difficult was trying to separate the onion from the bacon which I ended out giving up and deciding to leave in. The soup turned out wonderful otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
It was tasty, but in the future, I would cook the bacon separate from the onions. I'm not a fan of limp bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I substituted italian bulk sausage for the smoked sausage, because that's what I had. I used extra garlic, 5 small white potatoes, and a box of swansons chicken broth and substituted evaporated milk for the cream. I didn't think the bacon really added too much to this so next time I will make it without. I was very surprised that my 5 year old said the kale was her favorite part of the soup, as she is a very fussy eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was absolutely FABOLOUS!!! My family LOVED this soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lioness357

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Excellent! I did use chicken stock in place of water and base and used spinach instead of kale as I had spinach that needed to be used. Also used new potatoes instead of regular potatoes andI used 3 mild and 2 hot Italian sausages as that is what I had on hand and added a little bit of red pepper flakes. This sounds like a lot of changes, but it really wasn't, it was only substitutes! Oh, and I used a full cup of cream. This soup was even great as left overs! Can't wait to make this again. Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Greening Stocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by debby_ab
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Excellent soup! We'll be having it often now. I used a low sodium chicken bouillion. And added extra kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was excellent! I used more bacon (maybe 10 slices to use it up) and 2 boxes of frozen kale. It seemed so thick, probably from the kale likely being more than the 2c so I added another cup of water and a little more bouillon powder. I doubt those changes would have affected the flavor much - we all loved it and we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Great recipe, and very easy to make vegan with it still being delicious. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was a lot saltier than I expected, probably because of the bacon. DD (12) was coming down with a cold, so I thought some soup with veggies would help. I tried adding 1 cup milk to ease the salt, but next time, I'd leave out the bacon altogether and use a tiny bit of smoke flavoring instead; it would save on fat and salt. This was a great way to use some kale and get the kids to eat it. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I followed others reviews and used browned bulk sausage. I used spicy Italian turkey sausage, an extra teaspoon of garlic and it turned out great. My husband said that he didn't think he could tell the difference between this one and the restaraunt's soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States