Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I really love the flavor of this recipe. Very close to o@#!/gardens soup. Goes great with a crusty bread.had no problem serving just this for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melarizona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I have made this soup 4 times! I have it 3 stars because I did not think that smoked sausage was a good fit for this recipe. I replaced the smoked sausage with bulk Italian sausage and once with spicy Italian turkey sausage and they were both delicious !! I also added more kale and broth to mine. It taste so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
yes it was very good, except we are big soup eaters. I added a second quart of water and another bouillion cube, also, next time I would add more potatoes and such, to make it a bit heartier. We added extra spinach on top for those of us that love spinach because a cup for the whole pot was not enough for my husband and I. The soup had wonderful taste however, and everyone loved. I added a half teaspoon of garlic and herb seasoning and we used turkey bacon and regular italian turkey sausage not smoked so that was good too as a substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I have to say I took this recipe and ran with what I had and it was delicious. I used homemade sweet Italian sausage, browned in a skillet with sweet onion. I used a quart and a half of chicken broth, fresh mushrooms and golden potatoes. I brought it to a boil then reduced heat to low and let it simmer. About half an hour before dinner, I added chopped fresh baby spinach and canned milk. Served with garlic cheddar bassy biscuits. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Better than Olive Garden!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
First off- double it!! =yummy so you want leftovers!! I like to cook the sausage sans casing in a skillet, it releases more flavor into the soup I also try to do everything in one pot with the least mess, so this is how I prepare it: -Remove the sausage from the casing and chop up the bacon raw -Start at step 3, but cook the sausage with the bacon and onions -skip step 4 Viola! Turns out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this recipe a while ago and loved it. It seem to be close to the large restaurant chain's soup. I only changed one thing and that was the sausage because I now that bulk sausage was used in the original recipe. I used hot Italian soup and kept everything else the same and my family loved it. Thanks for the keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My husband's and my absolute favorite. I make this all the time! Perfect "date-night-in" soup. Wonderful served with a glass of wine and bread sticks. Molto Bene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emewells

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sesser, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Good soup and worth trying first following the recipe. When I made it a second time, I did make some changes. Instead of the packaged smoked sausage, I used a mild Italian Turkey sausage and removed it from the casing & browned. I also fried the bacon in the oven, let it cool and then crumbled it into the soup when the potatoes were almost finished cooking. I also believe I used spinach when I could not find kale that looked good. The last two editions were to make the soup creamier. So I increased the heavy cream to 1 c and also used a can of evaporated milk. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. Easy to make and so good. I am going to try spinach next time as the kale was not as tender as I would have like it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jecjr0726

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States