Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I liked the Olive Garden version of this so gave it a try. I cut up and browned my sausage first, cheated and used packaged bacon bits (probably less than 6 slices' worth), and added more kale than actually called for, but it was GREAT! Even BETTER than OGs!Leftovers didn't last long enough! I'm thinking of making an extra-large batch next time and freezing some for easy lunches. Definite keeper, although I may try some of the other suggested tweaks later just for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Belle
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was absolutely amazing I loved it can't wait to do it again! My son & I did it together hes only 8 & enjoyed it so much! This is my fav soup at OG so to know that I can make this at home now means everything! Plus I had OG dressing to go with the salad so it was so on! Thank u whoever submitted this 1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I do add more potatoes and brown the ground chicken sausage first. Rather than the heavy whipping cream the chef told me to add a quart of half and half instead. It's a wonderful filling soup, and so easy!!I make exactly the way the chef said and never tire of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Absolutely awesome! I added more kale and a tad more cream, making it 1/2 c instead of 1/3. And I used hot italian sausage instead of the smoked type. It is so chock full of protein and fiber! Very filling with loads of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I really love the flavor of this recipe. Very close to o@#!/gardens soup. Goes great with a crusty bread.had no problem serving just this for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melarizona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I have made this soup 4 times! I have it 3 stars because I did not think that smoked sausage was a good fit for this recipe. I replaced the smoked sausage with bulk Italian sausage and once with spicy Italian turkey sausage and they were both delicious !! I also added more kale and broth to mine. It taste so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
yes it was very good, except we are big soup eaters. I added a second quart of water and another bouillion cube, also, next time I would add more potatoes and such, to make it a bit heartier. We added extra spinach on top for those of us that love spinach because a cup for the whole pot was not enough for my husband and I. The soup had wonderful taste however, and everyone loved. I added a half teaspoon of garlic and herb seasoning and we used turkey bacon and regular italian turkey sausage not smoked so that was good too as a substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I have to say I took this recipe and ran with what I had and it was delicious. I used homemade sweet Italian sausage, browned in a skillet with sweet onion. I used a quart and a half of chicken broth, fresh mushrooms and golden potatoes. I brought it to a boil then reduced heat to low and let it simmer. About half an hour before dinner, I added chopped fresh baby spinach and canned milk. Served with garlic cheddar bassy biscuits. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Better than Olive Garden!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
First off- double it!! =yummy so you want leftovers!! I like to cook the sausage sans casing in a skillet, it releases more flavor into the soup I also try to do everything in one pot with the least mess, so this is how I prepare it: -Remove the sausage from the casing and chop up the bacon raw -Start at step 3, but cook the sausage with the bacon and onions -skip step 4 Viola! Turns out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States