Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
this was good, but I had to make some revisions. I had to use smoked turkey sausage as I didn't have raw sausage. I ended up using more potatoes and I used less sausage than was called for, but that is probably the difference in the cooking down from the raw, and I used spinach. I served this at an academy meeting. No one knew me and I heard lots of positive comments on it. "This tastes like an olive garden soup" It was a tasty soup, and I will make it again this time with raw sausage as the recipe called for, because I think that will make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
For lack of sausage, I added twice the bacon and twice the kale. I also used buttermilk in place of heavy cream. It was Scrumtrulescent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I have made Zuppa Toscana many times, and this version was my least favorite. It's almost like the 1 quart of water was supposed to be 2 quarts. There was way too much sausage for the amount of liquid. Sorry, this just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Farmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Exactly like Olive Garden. I didn't have bacon, so I made it without and used fat-free half and half to cut the fat and calories. It was perfect and absolutely delicious. I wish I doubled the recipe because it was a hit at the dinner table!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Perfect version of a great restaurant soup. I have shared this recipe with some fanatical fans of the version from the Olive Garden, and they rave about it. This recipe even gets my son to eat some green food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Wonderful flavor! I used 2 hot italian sausage and 2 sweet italian sausage, I think next time I will use 4 of each as there just didnt seem to be enough meat. However it still came out very tasty and just as good as Olive Gardens. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Great soup for those cooler winter nights. One of those dishes that the leftovers are even better than the night cooked. I changed a few ingredients to put my own twist on the recipe. I used "hot" ground sausage (cause I like my stuff spicy), and I used evaporated skim milk instead of heavy cream for a healthier alternative. Served with buttered roles. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
oh wow!!!! I really liked this recipe. Thanks for this recipe. sorry for OG i'll never go again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I liked the flavor of this recipe, and followed it exactly, but would recommend adding more potato. I would also save the bacon to sprinkle on top just before serving to keep it from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANNA
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I changed it up to make it a little lighter after making it according to the recipe the first time. I used turkey sausage patties (browned), veggie boullion (fat free! but all the taste of chicken boullion), half and half instead of cream. No bacon. Tastes amazing both ways. Lighter version means I can incorporate it into my week with less guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States