Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years and we always enjoy it. I use canned chicken broth rather than the water and bouillon and I find Jimmy Dean's hot sausage adds flavor and a little bite. Served with some fresh baked bread sticks you'll think you are at the Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Very good, I use water instead of chicken stock and half & half, its lower in fat and still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is the best soup ever. It takes just like Olive Garden, but better because you make it yourself and get lots more. :O) Loved It !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
It was so easy to make and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was awesome! I used chicken broth (6 cups) and had to substitute spinach for the kale since they were out at the grocery store. I also used crumbled spicy Italian sausage because we like a little heat. Yummo! Now I have to find a recipe for bread sticks & salad from this favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Love love love this soup. Just wonderful with some crusty bread for dipping. I did add more bacon to the soup and more kale. Have made many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie_Fishook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Very good, however i did make some changes but wanted to try kale for the first time and absolutely loved it. I did a lower fat version using Turkey smoked sausage which i sauteed with onion until the onion was soft, then added the potatoes. I added enough chicken broth to cover, added salt, pepper and garlic powder. Boiled for 10-15 min and then lowered heat and added the kale and let it simmer until the kale was soft. My picky nephew even gobbled this up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SkierCook
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe was phenomenal! I am a total beginner to cooking and it turned out great. The only change I made to the recipe and will do the next time I make it is to use a 16 oz package of italian sausage. The soup was thicker than the Olive Garden version so next time, I am going to make the following changes: 1. 2/3 the amount of Sausage and Bacon. 2. 3/4 Chicken Boullian 3. 2 times the amount of Kale. 4. Add some spices to get the itallian sausage kick. It needed to be a little bit more spicy and hot to hit the olive garden version in my opinion. For those of you wanting to emulate Olive Garden, this recipe should definately be your starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I didn't care for this at all. It tasted like greasy meat in a flavorless milk broth. Sorry, but I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
My family loves this soup! It is just delicious. To make it a little healthier we use double the kale and omit the bacon. Saute onions and garlic after draining the sausage (the sausage you use makes or breaks the soup - a nice spicy sausage with lots of flavor is good). I use a spicy Italian sausage and just brown in a skillet. If you like the Olive Garden soup, you will enjoy this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States