Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
The first time I made this it was good but not great. The second time I used Italian sausage, browned not baked, and added a couple cloves of minced garlic. I also substituted baby spinach for the kale. We like it much better prepared this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
So delish and so easy to make! I have made this several times and people always ask for the recipe. Perfect for the crock pot. My family and I prefer spinach to kale in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELASEELY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvarado, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Loved it! Great winter soup. Used broth and doubled everything but the sausage. Managed to sneak kale past one of two children! Will try italian sausage next time for variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very Rich, but Great tasting... And Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I made this last night for dinner with crusty french loaves and it was very tasty. In order to lighten it up I made a few changes: I used hot turkey italian sausage and fat free half and half and they worked perfectly. I also cooked the bacon and onions seperately and added the crumbled bacon at the end as directed. I'm definitely adding this to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Really there's no need to head to Olive Garden every time you're after this soup. I've made this recipe a million times over and you just can't tell the difference in the taste. The great thing about making it at home, is that now that we're eating healthier, it's so easy to modify to fit that. I either leave out the bacon, or just use a few slices, use lo-fat milk instead of cream, and sometimes use 1/2 sausage and 1/2 ground turkey. And FYI, whether you're making it exactly like the recipe or a lo-cal version, spinach is fabulous in place of kale and much easier to find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is my absolute favorite soup at Olive Garden, so I was very excited to find this recipe. It did not disappoint. I found it to taste just as good as the original. A friend recommended I leave out the bacon as she has made this recipe as well and found that it was just as flavorful without it and not as greasy so I made it this way. The sausage did gave it enough flavor and I even found breadsticks in the bread aisle just like the ones from Olive Garden! I brushed some melted butter and garlic salt on them and baked them for 5 minutes and they tasted like the real thing. This has been a repeat in our house and tonight I think I'm going to try it with spinach instead of Kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evaness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
tried this recipe and it worked out great. I found adding some fresh crispy cooked bacon at the time of serving worked really well. It was truly better with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickyt51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Delic! Made with no bacon (I don't taste bacon in the one I like when I eat out) and a little more kale and garlic. Half the water used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Absolutely yummy! Instead of smoked sausage I use hot italian sausage. Some may find this a bit too spicy for their liking, however, it's just perfect to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Chef John’s Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States