Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
It was so easy to make and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was awesome! I used chicken broth (6 cups) and had to substitute spinach for the kale since they were out at the grocery store. I also used crumbled spicy Italian sausage because we like a little heat. Yummo! Now I have to find a recipe for bread sticks & salad from this favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Love love love this soup. Just wonderful with some crusty bread for dipping. I did add more bacon to the soup and more kale. Have made many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie_Fishook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Very good, however i did make some changes but wanted to try kale for the first time and absolutely loved it. I did a lower fat version using Turkey smoked sausage which i sauteed with onion until the onion was soft, then added the potatoes. I added enough chicken broth to cover, added salt, pepper and garlic powder. Boiled for 10-15 min and then lowered heat and added the kale and let it simmer until the kale was soft. My picky nephew even gobbled this up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SkierCook
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe was phenomenal! I am a total beginner to cooking and it turned out great. The only change I made to the recipe and will do the next time I make it is to use a 16 oz package of italian sausage. The soup was thicker than the Olive Garden version so next time, I am going to make the following changes: 1. 2/3 the amount of Sausage and Bacon. 2. 3/4 Chicken Boullian 3. 2 times the amount of Kale. 4. Add some spices to get the itallian sausage kick. It needed to be a little bit more spicy and hot to hit the olive garden version in my opinion. For those of you wanting to emulate Olive Garden, this recipe should definately be your starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I didn't care for this at all. It tasted like greasy meat in a flavorless milk broth. Sorry, but I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
My family loves this soup! It is just delicious. To make it a little healthier we use double the kale and omit the bacon. Saute onions and garlic after draining the sausage (the sausage you use makes or breaks the soup - a nice spicy sausage with lots of flavor is good). I use a spicy Italian sausage and just brown in a skillet. If you like the Olive Garden soup, you will enjoy this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very tasty, and yes, very much like the Olive Garden version. I enjoy using hot Italian sausage instead of smoked sausage. Be sure to drain your sausage thoroughly or the grease forms unsightly collections on the surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This soup is a huge hit with my hubby! He's constantly asking me to make it! Instead of using russet potatoes, i use 5 small red potatoes, skin on. It gives it a smoother consistency i think. I'v made it without bacon, i didn't have any on hand, and it still turned out delicious! Thank you so much for sharing! Awesome comfort food, especially when you're pregnant, like me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was because I've cooked this two ways. One, as written, and two, with Italian sausage instead of smoked. The Italian sausage made it WAY better. But other than that, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Chef John’s Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States