Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I needed a recipe for kale and being a big fan of soups I chose this one. I didn't have all the ingredients but this recipe was easy to improvise. I used a bag of diced potatoes and onions, added a little extra dried minced onion for good measure...used what I had left of chicken and beef broth (roughly 2 cups, didn't really measure), added 1 cup of white wine, and a little all purpose spice (cachere's sp?)...I let those ingredients simmer in the crockpot for 5 hours...when I got home from work I didn't like the brothy look and since I didn't have heavy whipping cream, I added a can of Cream of Celery soup to thicken (i also left out the bacon and water)...THEN, I added the kale and left to simmer for another hour while I made some jalapeno corn bread to go with it. It was amazing! Thanks for a great recipe that was easy to work with...next time I will try it as is...although, I do recommend the wine and the cream of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy Sue Ruby Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamston, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
My Cooking group, OurTableTalk dot com chose this recipe as our community cook along recipe for February and I'm glad we did! I'm a soup lover to begin with and this is one of the best I've found. Hearty and so many flavors going on. I didn't change a thing and in my opinion it needs no changes. It was so delicious. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I love this recipe! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was awesome. I used hot & mild italian sausage & added potatoes, but it is so so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made the restaurant style zuppa toscano from this site and I found this recipe to be much better. Used up the kale from our csa when making this great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Everyone in my family loved this. It was actually enjoyable to make. Never used kale before, but yum! Simple and delicious. It reminded me of a good Italian restuarant soup. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Had to make a healthy version, but I gave it five stars for being an excellent recipe with which to modify to healthy. I used 1/2 pound Italian-seasoned ground turkey, 6 slices turkey bacon, nearly tripled the amount of stock, and used skim milk instead of cream. It was really, super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I loved this soup, but should have read the reviews because there was way too much sausage (would have been a 5* with that adustment) and should have halfed it. Otherwise it was great and I used mild italian sausage b/c that's what I had on hand and will up the kale to 3 cups next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States