Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I live in Erie, PA, and cold is a reality, except for August. Maybe. Further I am a great soup lover and this is a great soup and I love it. It has meat, potatoes and veggies and the broth is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
A family favorite... have made this many times. We like our soup a little thicker so, I add a little cornstarch roux and extra potatos. One time I was out of regular bacon and substituted turkey bacon. I would not recommend doing this unless you are in a pinch. The flavor was still there but I did not care for the texture. The bacon was just too chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I did not like this at all. I did not care for the texture of the basically raw kale in the soup. I think it would have been better if the kale was cooked prior to adding to the soup. Also, it was far too salty and there was not enough broth. I had to add double the amount of water and I picked the kale out to make this edible. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This wonderful soup tastes the same as the one you get at The Olive Garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline Sharp Eberlein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I loved this soup so much I made a double batch and served it with Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I needed a recipe for kale and being a big fan of soups I chose this one. I didn't have all the ingredients but this recipe was easy to improvise. I used a bag of diced potatoes and onions, added a little extra dried minced onion for good measure...used what I had left of chicken and beef broth (roughly 2 cups, didn't really measure), added 1 cup of white wine, and a little all purpose spice (cachere's sp?)...I let those ingredients simmer in the crockpot for 5 hours...when I got home from work I didn't like the brothy look and since I didn't have heavy whipping cream, I added a can of Cream of Celery soup to thicken (i also left out the bacon and water)...THEN, I added the kale and left to simmer for another hour while I made some jalapeno corn bread to go with it. It was amazing! Thanks for a great recipe that was easy to work with...next time I will try it as is...although, I do recommend the wine and the cream of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy Sue Ruby Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamston, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
My Cooking group, OurTableTalk dot com chose this recipe as our community cook along recipe for February and I'm glad we did! I'm a soup lover to begin with and this is one of the best I've found. Hearty and so many flavors going on. I didn't change a thing and in my opinion it needs no changes. It was so delicious. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I love this recipe! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States